The following is a recommendation from the Board of Directors of Monarch Books.

"We recommend that Monarch Books open a café in its store. Monarch, having been in business at the same location for more than twenty years, has a large customer base because it is known for its wide selection of books on all subjects. Clearly, opening the café would attract more customers. Space could be made for the café by discontinuing the children's book section, which will probably become less popular given that the most recent national census indicated a significant decline in the percentage of the population under age ten. Opening a café will allow Monarch to attract more customers and better compete with Regal Books, which recently opened its own café."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the business, it is a great practice of trying to stay ahead of the competition. Businesses must constantly try to beat out their competitors in an open market. However, businesses must use correct logic and practice when making decisions, especially major changes. In this argument, the Board of Directors make several assumptions in support of opening a café in its bookstore. However, there are several questions that need to be answered from their flawed assumptions and overall argument.

Firstly, The board of directors assumes first off that opening a café will bring new customers into the bookstore. However, data is not provided that supports that customers that come to the store are interested in a café. We need data, for example, provided from a legitimate survey or study about what percentage of Monarch customers and potential customers in the area that are actually interested in purchasing goods from a café if there were to be one? Secondly, the Board of Directors assumes that café will bring in enough new customers to make the café addition profitable. In business, if a action does not lead to additional profits, then it is a waste of time. If there is to be an increase in customers, we need data on potentially how many new customers if any and if the venture would be profitable? If we can get the data on these questions, then we can reevaluate the profitability and need for such a move.

Next, the Board of Directors assumes the children section will become less popular due to the significant decline in the percentage of population under ten according to the national census. This a very large and inadequate assumption. The Board fails to cite the correlation between a potential decrease in interest of the children section and the decrease in the population of individuals under ten. The question that needs to be answered is where is the data that supports the claim of the Board of Director? What percentage of your customers come and buy books from the Children section? With the data and information, we can infer how important the children section is and is it an asset that we can afford to lose.

Thirdly, the Board of Directors assumes that having a café will allow them to better compete with their competitors Regal Books. We need to see the statisticts of how many of Regal customers buy goods from their café and more importantly, how many customers came to Regal before and after the café was added to their store. The Board of Directors are also assuming that the café is what makes Regal have the edge over Monarch. Data would need to be shown to support this idea. If we can evaluate the data for the amount of customers before and after the addition of the café, then the Board of Directors can make a better informed decision.

In conclusion, the Board of Directors make several assumptions when arguing for the addition of a café to the Monarch Book store. They assume opening a café will bring new customers, the children section will become less popular due to the census, and the café will allow them to better compete against Regal. However, no data or studies have been provided that support any of these claims. With data and careful statistical analysis of the data/studies, the Board can make a Better informed a decision based on facts and not ideas & opinions. The argument provided is flawed in many areas and does not constitute of the addition of a café.