A nation should require all its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college

Schools in the country today differ from each other in many aspects.Be it the size of the playground,quality of the meal, or the type of the students and teachers. But the most alarming difference is the curriculum of education imparted. Some elite private schools are accessible only to the rich kids. These schools mostly have the brightest teachers in the country to impart knowledge to the kids who go there. The curriculum there imparts enough knowledge to these kids to make informed decisions on their future. On the other hand, there are other schools where the less fortunate or the common folk go to. These schools might have a curriculum that has been preserved since the inception of the education system. The children of these schools might come out of school as scholars, but with such a different curriculum are they empowered to make the same decisions that a kid who comes from a school with a better curriculum ? That brings us to the question of having a standardized national curriculum across the country for all schools. Eventhough there are holes in the recommendation, I tend to slightly agree with it.

First of all, most high school going kids are yet to figure out what they are looking forward to as a viable career option. They make college course choices based on their surrounding input and the information that is made available to them. If a kid only sees one part of the curriculum, he is unaware of the other career choices he could have made had he known about them. Giving a child a basic knowledge about a variety of fields like literature,arts, math, science, computers, finance, medicene would give him a taste of all of these. Most kids in high school go into specialized streams even before they go to college and hence are blindsided. They should have a working session in each of these career fields as a standard option.

Also, in today's market we see that even though there are a multitude of job openings available and there are people with the right technical skills, there is a shortage of people with the required soft skills. This is because of a lack of soft skill emphasis in curricullum's across some school's in the country whereas those who have emphasized on them produces a better person and gives them a unfair advantage.

To avoid this, a standardized currriculum should be given to all schools which they should follow, so that kids across the country atleast have the same basic information and the guidance of all the required skills.

However, having a standardized curriculum also has its own downsides. Not all children like all the subjects. Some might have an affinity towards Math, while some towards Biology and so on. If we subject the children to learn and have a taste of everything without giving them an option to choose, all the kids in the country would become uniform. This could dull their sense of individuality and creativity. Many brilliant artist of our time have not been through a school and have bred their creativity even in the absence of a guiding hand.

Having said all this, we can see that there are both benefits and downsides to having a standard nationalised curriculum. While having a standard curriculum would level the springboard for the kids across the country to launch their professional careers and ensure basic that basic knowledge is imparted to everybody, having the same curriculum would also lessen the room for individual creativity. Hence, while we adopt a standardized curriculum as the basic neccessity for all schools, ther should also be a leeway to customise this curriculum as per the studen'ts interests and predilictions. This would ensure the same basic literacy across all individuals and at the same time leave enough room for individual brilliance.