TPO5

People today spend too much time on personal enjoyment doing things they like to do rather than doing things they should do.

In today’s world people are encouraged to follow their heart, seek out their passion and live their lives on their own terms. while all this might seem encouraging, there also exist hypocritic people who encourage this lifestyle in speech but never in action. there are no shortage of opinions as well in this regard. while many people might disagree with me, I firmly believe that, in the midst of all this chaos people in the modern society end up focus on personal enjoyment culminating in doing things that they like rather than doing things they should rather do. I must admit that this opinion stems from my personal experience rather than a measured consensus of the society.

For instance, I love watching football matches. I am an ardent fan of “Arsenal football Club”, a soccer club based in London. they play soccer matches every week and it is telecasted live on TV. I can watch them whenever I wish to and I regularly watch them play every Saturday. however, when my exams are round the corner, my parents have advised me countless times to stop watching football and spend that time studying for the exams. while, I know deep in my heart, that I should be following their advice and studying for the exams, I invariably don’t. I still watch those matches and end up procrastinating my study period. this is a classic example of me doing something for my personal enjoyment rather than doing what I should be doing.

Furthermore, this is evident in the lives of corporate employees like mine. I’ve personally chosen personal enjoyment over the work that I should have been doing. many a times, when my girlfriend calls me to go out for dinner, I do leave my work behind and go out with her for dinner. I do come back and finish the work later, but that seldom happens only when I have the time and energy left to complete the same. I would any day prefer going out with her over finishing my work. Here again, the right thing to do would be to complete my work and then go out for dinner, however, I still gout for dinner first as that satisfies my personal self.

Another good example in today’s society would be that of drinking alcohol or even smoking cigarettes. All of us have known for quite some time that both of these activities are injurious to our health. they are also deleterious to our kith and kin as the smoke from cigar’s can harm their respiratory process. this has also been broadcasted by the government countless times to make the public aware of the same. Nevertheless, we ignore all these warnings and continue to smoke our lungs out and drink a lot. this once again proves that we prefer personal enjoyment over doing the right thing.

In light of all these examples, I could confidently say that we millennials prefer our personal satisfaction and enjoyment over anything else. And I agree with that attitude, for we only do our best work when we are happy and content. only then, does the creativity in us flow and we live as we are supposed to be enjoying the only life we have rather than slaving away.