The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The business manager here makes a recommendation to restore the time that was devoted to the local news and weather to what it was before. The motive of this recomendation is to mitigate the complaints recieved from the viewers and to retain the current advertising revenue. The recommendation could be a step in the right direction, but the manager has not provided us with enough evidence to support his arguments.

First of all, the base on which the recommendation is built on is that most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with coverage of weather and the local news on the station. He does not elaborate on the emotion or nature of the complaints. It could be a complaint asking to increase more coverage or it could be a complaint bashful about the quality of the current coverage or it could even be suggesting that more time needs to be devoted to national news or any other events which might be of higher priority. If the nature of the complaint is suggesting an increase of time devoted to the local and weather news, then this evidence would strenghten the manager's argument to restore the time devoted to its former level. On the contrary, if the nature of the complaints are bashful of the quality of the local news that is provided on the station, then the manager should focus on improving the content and quality of the news reported first and then turn his attention to devoting more time which significantly weakens the manager's argument. Also, if the complaints are suggesting to reduce the time already spent on local news, then again this evidence would weaken the argument.

The next leg his argument stands on is that the local business advertisers have cancelled their advertising contracts with the station. This does not offer any insight into why the advertisers had cancelled their contracts. This could be because of many reasons. The pricing of advertising contracts might have been very high by this station whereas new competitors could have offered them much better rebates. They could have cancelled the contracts for that reason which drastically weakens his argument.

The advertisers could also have cancelled their contracts due to a change in startegy rather than the station's loss of viewers. Nowadays, digital non-personal promotion is making waves in the industry. The advertisers could have focused on advertising their products on internet blogs or even go the old fashioned way of advertising in local newspapers. There is no evidence as to why the local business cancelled the contracts. In either of these cases, the argument made by the manager attenuates.

The argument is strengthened only if we can assure that the loss of contracts is due to lesser viewers.

Finally, he only says about the complaints received in this time period. There could be positive reactions on the change in the time allotted to the national news. More number of views might appreciate the importance given to national news. In this case, the argument made by the manager if executed would have a detrimental effect on the number of viewers.

Hence, due to the lack of evidence provided in this argument, the station cannot make an informed decision. It would support his argument, if he could shed light on the claims that he has made and support them with the whole picture rather than giving out only his thought.