In any field of endeavor, it is impossible to make a significant contribution without first being strongly influenced by past achievements within that field.

Over the course of our long history, we humans have made significant contributions across various disciplines. Some of them have been a minor tweak or an advancement of an earlier finding while some have been brilliant imaginative never thought of ideas. The statement mentions that all significant contributions have been heavily influenced by past achievements in that field. While it is possible and is often the case that a significant achievement or a break through in a certain attempt has been influenced from past achievements in that field, one cannot rule out a original idea totally unrelated to past achievements. There have been multiple instances, where we humans have made significant strides by inventing new theories or products nobody ever thought of before.

Isaac Newton, for example began formulating hi laws of motion without any reference to a previous achievement. His contribution and findings arose from a commonplace observation of an apple falling on his head. This is a simple phenomenon that nobody before him cared to even think about. His imagination and the curiosity behind the reason why the apply fell on his head rather than go onto any other direction gave rise to the phenomenon of “Gravity” as we know it today. Of course, many scientist have later worked on top of his theory supporting it or going against it.

Delving into history, the theory of evolution coined by the famous Charles Darwin was another example, He toyed with a seemingly non-existent observation of the characteristics of Green peas and saw how they responded to certain experiments that he conducted on them and came up with the theory. This again demonstrates his curiosity and his passion to explain how evolution of various species was related to their genes.

We can travel for long distances in a very short amount today due to the invention of the airplane by the Wright brothers. The only precursory thought that they had before gambling on the idea of a flying machine was the flight of the birds. Nobody, before them had the audacity to imagine humans flying. They failed in may of their attempts. They almost went bankrupt in their attempts to create a working model of their airplane, but they never gave up on their idea. The belief that they had in their idea was based on no former obserbation or contribution, but simply their willingness to creating something truly remarkable.

That being said, we also have seen cases in history where a significant contribution which has alleviated today’s world, inspired from an idea envisioned by somebody before them. The models of atom that we learn today in history books has been credited to John Dalton and other scientist today. But the inspiration for that modesl was based on the work that scientist like Henry Rutherford and Neils Bohr worked on.

Similarly, Henry Ford who I credited with the idea of creating a Production line and reducing the cost of making a car borrowed the idea by observing Slaughter houses in Europe.

As a summary, while it is entirely possible that significant contributions in today’s world are made from previous achievements, humanity has shown it is completely capable to create inventions that never existed before. Previous events or achivements certainly aid in creating a thought for the future, but they are not the cornerstone to truly remarkable achievements. They are merely a aid for something to be achieved. Imagination, perseverance and the willingness to be tenacious enough to see our vision come to fruition is what makes an idea successful above anything.