Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia. Using an observation-centered approach to studying Tertian culture, he concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. Recently another anthropologist, Dr. Karp, visited the group of islands that includes Tertia and used the interview-centered method to study child-rearing practices. In the interviews that Dr. Karp conducted with children living in this group of islands, the children spent much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. Dr. Karp decided that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture must be invalid. Some anthropologists recommend that to obtain accurate information on Tertian child-rearing practices, future research on the subject should be conducted via the interview-centered method.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

Based on the statements made above, there definitely needs to be more research and understanding about the Tertian child rearing practices. The anthropologist’s have recommended the “interview-centered” method to accrue this information on the Tertian child rearing method. While, it might be one of the methods to obtain information, the evidences that suggest the usage of this method are inadequate to suggest the same. The reasoning provided has many questions that need to be answered before we understand if it is the apt method.

The recommendation has been made citing the interview conducted by Dr.Karp. While it has been mentioned that the children interviewed have spoken more about their biological parents rather than speaking about the other adults in the village, there has been no mention about the questions that were asked to these children. If the children were asked only about their parents, they would regardless of who they were raised by speak only about their parents. Most of us in interviews try to provide an answer to the question asked. Hence, without understanding the purview and the context of the questions asked, the responses of the children interviews is not a reliable source of citation.

Secondly, it has been mentioned that Dr.Karp has conducted the interview in a group of islands that includes the Tertian islands. There has been no mention about the contribution of those interview answers by children who were actually from the Tertian islands. If most of the answers were from the adjoining islands, then these answers cannot be taken as a proxy for the answers of Tertian children. This is a assumption that has been made by the anthropologists who have recommended the interview based approach.

Also, the choice of the sample size and the sample type (segment) of the children questioned have not been mentioned anywhere. It could be possible that Dr.Karp only had a very minor number of Tertian children who were raised only by their parents questioned. It could entirely be possible that the children chosen for the interview had similar family characteristics like non-amicable parents due to which the villagers did not have involvement with the family, or the children could be a part of a ostracized family due to a social taboo. To evaluate the responses of the interview, there should be a description of the subjects of the survey.

Also, the anthropologists do not provide any detail on the other approach that has been mentioned, the “Observation- based” model or for that matter any other alternative. Could the best approach be an amalgam of both the approaches which could incorporate the falls of either of them?

To conclude, neither of the approaches mentioned by the author separately in the paragraph provide enough evidence to support the recommendation. The recommendation provided by the anthropologists have a barrage of questions to be answered before coming to a conclusion.