Nations should pass laws to preserve any remaining wilderness areas in their natural state, even if these areas could be developed for economic gain.

“Mother Nature”, as we call her, has to be protected when she needs protection since she has been taking care of us selflessly all this time despite our deleterious acts of cutting trees and killing wildlife. Despite the assertion that the wilderness areas could be developed for economic gain, it is imperative that we need to preserve each one of the very few wilderness areas we have got at present. I believe that nations should pass laws to preserve and protect any wilderness areas in their natural state, even if these areas could be developed for economic gain.

The chief reason for my fundamental agreement with the author is that many wildlife species have already become rare and some are even on the verge of extinction. For example, there are very few reserves in India having Bengal Tigers. Even Red Pandas are becoming rare in the parts where they are found and are in a near extinction stage. If we do not protect their habitat to which they are accustomed to, devilish hunters might enter these areas and execute the last of them or the animals might try crossing roads which were built for economic gain on their wilderness and might end up getting hit by some vehicle. Thus, it is each nation’s duty to protect any wilderness in their nation from such dangers.

Another reason for my view is that by using the wilderness for developing infrastructure or roads or farms or anything, we are risking our own lives. For instance, there have been many cases where leopards from forest have entered the nearby residential areas and even attacked people. The reason this happens is that their land has been taken over by us. Now, they don’t have a place they can call home. So they try to get back their habitat by horrifying people. So, at least for the sake of our own safety, each nation should preserve any wilderness areas in their nation.

Thirdly, poaching is a dangerous crime. We need to have protection around the wilderness areas so that poachers are not able to enter the wilderness and are arrested for attempting crime.

Some might argue that there are scopes for lots of economic gain by developing these areas. Yet, we know that our lives are worth more than anything. Thus, nations must pass laws to preserve any wilderness areas remaining in their natural state.

For all the reasons stated above, I agree with the author that nations should enforce strict laws to preserve and protect any wilderness areas in their natural state, even if they could be developed for economic gain.