Claim: In any field — business, politics, education, government — those in power should step down after five years.

Reason: The surest path to success for any enterprise is revitalization through new leadership.

“Change is inevitable and is the law of nature”. Despite the assertion that sometimes in some fields, the authorities should not step down after 5 yrs., it is imperative that in any field, those in power should step down after 5 yrs. because the surest path to success for any enterprise is revitalization through new leadership. I believe that success for any enterprise comes from change. Change in the leadership. Hence, I believe that those in power should step down after 5 years in any field rather than having a stagnant routine or administration.

One compelling reason for my view is that, as we know, there is no scope for progress without change. For instance, for many years Congress had been in power in the country of India. The problem of corruption never reduced in the period of their governance. But once Narendra Modi became the Prime minister of India and hence came into power, he demonetized the Rs.500 and Rs.1000 notes which reduced corruption significantly and also started Swachha Bharat Abhyan which was a step towards keeping our country clean and hence increasing quality of tourism. There were lot of good changes which were introduced and helped in progress of the nation including establishing many foreign relations and attracting more companies to come and manufacture their goods in India and all this happened because Congress stepped down from the seat and let a new government come into power. Thus, we can see that for progress to happen, it is inevitable for those in power to step down after 5 years.

Another reason for my belief is that if those in power don’t step down after 5 years, they are not giving a chance to other people who might have a better perspective and who might be able to do the job better to prove themselves worthy of the power. For example, even in education, if a Head of Department doesn’t step down from power after 5 years, the other professors who might be more student-friendly and who might act more responsible are denied a chance of proving themselves and hence it is no less than a dictatorship. Everyone should be given a chance to prove themselves worthy and show us what they have got and 5 years is enough time for assessing any person/party. Hence, I agree with the author that those in power should step down after 5 years.

Some might argue that change of authority is not always good and might be bad at times, yet it gives us a chance to assess each person and view the world from a different perspective which is important to identify flaws in the system which might not have been detected earlier. After weighing both sides, we can conclude that even though the new authority may not always be good, it gives us a chance to detect what kind of flaws the system might have and hence we can work on improving those flaws. Thus, I believe that those in power should step down after 5 years for the enterprise to succeed.

For all the reasons stated above, I therefore believe that those in power should step down after 5 years because the surest path to success for any enterprise is revitalization through a new leadership.