"Of the two leading real estate firms in our town — Adams Realty and Fitch Realty — Adams Realty is clearly superior. Adams has 40 real estate agents; in contrast, Fitch has 25, many of whom work only part-time. Moreover, Adams' revenue last year was twice as high as that of Fitch and included home sales that averaged $168,000, compared to Fitch's $144,000. Homes listed with Adams sell faster as well: ten years ago I listed my home with Fitch, and it took more than four months to sell; last year, when I sold another home, I listed it with Adams, and it took only one month. Thus, if you want to sell your home quickly and at a good price, you should use Adams Realty."

The author concludes that, of the 2 real estate firms (Adams and Fitch), Adams Realty is clearly superior and if you want to sell your home quickly and at a good price, use Adams Realty because ten yrs. ago, when author listed the home with Fitch, it took 4 months to sell while a year ago, when listed with Adams Realty, it took only a month to sell. The author’s line of reasoning is that Adams has 40 real estate agents while Fitch has only 25 most of which are part-time. Adam’s revenue on home sales last year was twice that of Fitch’s making it clearly superior. Ten yrs. ago, when author listed the home with Fitch, it took 4 months to sell while a year ago, when listed with Adams Realty, it took only a month to sell making selling the homes quicker and more profitable with Adam’s Realty. This argument is not convincing for various reasons.

First of all, the conclusion that Adams Realty is superior is based on the questionable assumption that the capacity of each real estate agent of Adam’s is same as that of each agent of Fitch’s. It is entirely possible that the capacity of each of Fitch’s agent is more and thus, even though 25 and part-time, they might do more quality work than 40 full-time agents of Adam’s. Hence, author’s generalization is unreliable.

Secondly, the author never addresses that the market conditions were same last year and ten years ago and will be same in the future. Suppose the market conditions were more favourable last year and hence it took only one month to sell the home and not because it was listed with Adam’s Realty. This can lead to debunking of the conclusion that if we want to sell home quickly we must choose Adam’s Realty.

Finally, author uses Future Past flaw. It is a flaw wherein it is assumed that what is true in the past will be true in the future. It assumes that the trend in revenue sales will be similar in the future as it was last year and hence Adam’s Realty will always have a greater revenue on home sales than Fitch’s Realty.

In conclusion, the argument is not a very strong argument. The author must provide support for the assumption each agent of Adam’s has similar potential as each agent of Fitch’s. Moreover, proper evidence has to be given for supporting the assumptions that market conditions were same 10 yrs. ago and last year and will be same in future and that revenue on home sales will be greater for Adam’s than that of Fitch’s always. Only with more convincing evidence could this argument become more than just a Future Past flaw.