Some people believe that government funding of the arts is necessary to ensure that the arts can flourish and be available to all people. Others believe that government funding of the arts threatens the integrity of the arts.

Does the govt. funding of arts ensure that arts can flourish and be available to all people? Despite the assertion that govt. funding of arts is necessary to ensure that arts can flourish and be available to people, it is imperative that government funding of arts threatens the integrity of arts. I believe that government funding of arts does threaten the integrity and even the flourishing of arts.

The chief reason for my view is that whenever govt. funding is involved, all purchasing of equipment slows down tremendously. For example, even if an institution has to buy a simple canvas board or a chair, it has to apply for the tender years ago because it has to be approved by the governmental funding board then has to go through various authorities before reaching in hands of the institute. Finally the growth rate of arts reduces and hence arts are not allowed to flourish with the speed it can if funded privately.

Secondly, items purchased by government tenders are restricted in quality and quantity. For instance, if it were your own money you can do whatever you want to do with it, buy small no. of quality products rather than buying large no. of low quality equipment. But, if it is government’s money you are instructed on how much to buy and what to buy of what quality. There is no choice. Hence, if the equipment is not proper, the resulting artwork is going to be of lower standard. Thus, govt. funding is damaging the standard of arts.

Some might argue that govt. funding reduces the money institution has to spend from its own pocket. Yet it is imperative that the result of spending its own money improves the standard of equipment and hence the artworks. After weighing both sides, we conclude that govt. funding is more detrimental to arts than it is beneficial.

For all the reasons stated above, I believe that govt. funding does not allow arts to flourish the way it should and threatens its integrity.