When schools do not have enough funding or teachers, some people think physical education classes should be cut, while others believe that courses in art and music should be eliminated first. Which do you think is preferable, and why?

While some people think that courses in art and music should be eliminated first due to schools not having enough funding or teachers, most of the people believe that physical education classes should be cut. I believe that physical education classes can be cut but art and music has to be preserved.

One of the chief reasons for my view is that art and music are the only activities in the school which allow for relaxation of mind. Unlike other courses, these do not tax the brain or the body. Even if physical educational classes are removed, keeping art and music is important to maintain the balance and allowing relaxation time for the mind and body. For instance, doing exercises might be tiring. Students might become tired and enervated. They deserve relaxation times to cool their mind and body.

Another reason for my view is that Art and Music allow the students to get creative. Other courses stick to the textbook and traditional rules. For instance, games and exercises are bound by rules and stress the body. Art and Music instill creativity into students which is an important aspect for being successful and standing out in a crowd of many students.

Some might argue that lack of physical education classes might cause students to become unhealthy. Yet we know that they can always exercise at home by playing sports or hitting the gym or enrolling for some private sports coaching programs.

For all the reasons stated above, I believe that physical education classes should be removed first.