Some people suggest that it is wrong to give money to beggars asking for money on the street, while others think that it is the right thing to do. Which point of view do you think is correct, and why?

While some people believe that it is right to give money to beggars asking for money on the street, most of the people think that it is the wrong thing to do. I believe that it is wrong to give money to beggars asking for money on the street.

One of the chief reasons for my view is that the money you give to the beggar sometimes goes to thieves who make these beggars beg for money and collect money for the thieves. For instance, these thieves threaten the beggars and don't give even a significant share of money to the beggars. This leads to oppression of the beggars.

Another reason for my view is that giving money to beggars encourages begging. For instance, if we give money to people who beg, they think that it is easy money. So, instead of attempting to work and earn their money by doing some jobs even menial ones, they stick to begging and become lazy. This is also harmful to the GNP as the beggars do not contribute to GNP. Instead, if they had worked even as a servant or car cleaner or waiter, they might earn money and contribute to the GNP.

Some might argue that it is our moral responsibility to help the poor. Yet we know that instead of giving money, if we give them proper education, that would be far more benefetial as they would be capable of earning their own money. Proper education would also help them make more rational decisions on spending money. Many a times they waste the money on alcohol and other harmful stuff. If they are going to spend money on illegal activities, why should we pay?

For all the reasons above, I believe that giving money to beggars asking for money is the wrong thing to do.