The following is a recommendation from the Board of Directors of Monarch Books. "We recommend that Monarch Books open a café in its store. Monarch, having been in business at the same location for more than twenty years, has a large customer base because it is known for its wide selection of books on all subjects. Clearly, opening the café would attract more customers. Space could be made for the café by discontinuing the children's book section, which will probably become less popular given that the most recent national census indicated a significant decline in the percentage of the population under age ten. Opening a café will allow Monarch to attract more customers and better compete with Regal Books, which recently opened its own café."

The author concludes that Monarch Books should open a café in its store because it would attract more customers and would allow Monarch to better compete with Regal Books which recently opened a café. The author’s line of reasoning is that the space for the café can be made available by discontinuing children’s section which will probably become less popular given that most recent national census indicated a significant decline in the percentage of population under age ten. Thus, a café can be built which will allow Monarch Books to compete better with Regal Books. The argument is unconvincing for various reasons.

First of all, the author concludes that Monarch should open the café because it will allow Monarch to compete better with Regal Books based on the questionable assumption that Regal Books does not have a children’s book section. It is entirely possible that Regal Books has a children’s book section apart from the café which would make it a preferable option, thus, stealing away customers of Monarch Books. This will weaken the competing power of Monarch Books. Thus, author’s assumption is unwarranted.

Secondly, the author assumes that a decline in percentage of population implies that the population of children has gone down. It is entirely possible that population of children has also increased but not as rapidly as other age groups. Thus, closing down children’s book section might be detrimental to Monarch Books.

Finally, author uses a Future Past flaw. It is a flaw where something that is true in past is assumed to be true in the future. The author assumes that just because the recent census indicates a significant decline in percentage of population under ten, it will keep declining in the future.

In conclusion, the author’s argument is not a strong one. The author must provide support for the assumption that the percentage of population under ten will keep declining in future, too. Moreover, the assumptions that Regal does not have a children’s book section and that a reduction in percentage of population under 10 implies a reduction in population under 10 have to be justified with proper evidence. Only with more convincing evidence can this argument become more than just a Future Past flaw.