The following is a recommendation from the Board of Directors of Monarch Books.

"We recommend that Monarch Books open a café in its store. Monarch, having been in business at the same location for more than twenty years, has a large customer base because it is known for its wide selection of books on all subjects. Clearly, opening the café would attract more customers. Space could be made for the café by discontinuing the children's book section, which will probably become less popular given that the most recent national census indicated a significant decline in the percentage of the population under age ten. Opening a café will allow Monarch to attract more customers and better compete with Regal Books, which recently opened its own café."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In a recent email, the Board of Directors of Monarch Books recommended to me that we open a new cafe in our store in order to attract more customers and compete with Regal Books which had opened a cafe recently. However, making this kind of business investment requires ample consideration and I feel that there are many questions that need to be answered before I can move forward with this recommendation.

Firstly, the authors make a potentially flawed assumption that opening a cafe would actually attract more customers. Do bookstores with coffee shops attract more customers? Or, do they, in fact, repel customers who want to avoid the noisy crowds and flavorful coffee aroma while shopping? Regal Books' recent decision to do so was mentioned, but no indication is given whether or not this was a profitable move. An analysis into how much Regal Books' business grew and how many customers it attracted with the new cafe, as well as how relevant this analysis is to our bookshop would be necessary to evaluate the authors' proposal. If, for example, the cafe was a destructive investment, reducing the number of customers of Regal Books, it may not make sense for us to do the same.

Another assumption made by the authors is that building a cafe within the Monarch bookstore is possible. From a legal perspective, the authors would need to verify whether a building permit could be obtained from the city to undertake this project. Logistically, they would also need to answer whether a builder to do the job could be found in the area and whether the proper plumbing and electrical circuitry exists to support the addition of a cafe. Financially, they would need to verify our business is in the proper state to fund this project or take a loan on credit.

Demolishing the children's book section to create space for the cafe on the assumption that it will soon become less popular also needs to be properly questioned. Although the census indicated a decline in the percentage of population below the age of ten, the authors must provide more information. Did the population decline happen in the district of our bookstore? Does it affect our customer base? It could very well be the case that our bookstore is near an elementary school, which has a large number of 10-year-old students, and that has grown in size the last year. In this case, demolishing the children's book section could hurt our business significantly.

Overall, the recommendation from my Board of Directors is, unfortunately, not convincing. I would like to strongly recommend that they do a thorough investigation into the questions raised above and provide an updated report addressing their unstated assumptions with concrete evidence.