The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

Recently, the business manager of a television station publicized a message, in which he argued that increased coverage of national news and reduced coverage of weather and local news over the past year, led to an increase in viewer complains and reduction in advertising revenues from local businesses. He then proposed that restoring the coverage to its prior form, would help to reverse these losses. Although the business manager's argument may appear valid at first, it is in fact based on many unstated assumptions and faulty logic.

Although most viewer complaints did concern the station's coverage of local and weather news, there is no evidence that the television station's change in airing time had any correlation to these complaints. A thorough analysis of the contents of the complaints, however, would allow station employees to better understand why viewers raised their concerns. If, for example, most of the complaints evidenced frustration towards the reduction in coverage of local and weather news, the business manager's argument would be strengthened.

Another key assumption the manager makes is that the reason local businesses canceled their advertising contracts was due to the change in the station's coverage of the different news categories. However, this would need to be validated; perhaps the best way to do this would be for the television company to ask the local businesses why they chose to cancel their contracts. If their reasons primarily concerned dissatisfaction with the change in coverage, the manager's argument would be made more viable.

The manager also implied that the cancellation of contracts by the local businesses reduced the advertising revenues of the company. Again, this kind of implication needs evidence. It could very well be so that larger contracts etne

Overall, the manager's argument is not convincing in its current form. In order to win support from his audience, the manager needs to gather more evidence, primarily through analysis of complaints and surveys with local businesses. Empowered with this information, the manager would be able to make a more logical argument.