Nations should pass laws to preserve any remaining wilderness areas in their natural state, even if these areas could be developed for economic gain.Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position

The commonplace suggests that economic development is antithetical to environment protection. Throughout history, this view has been constructed upon a myriad of deleterious impacts resulted from human activity. Nowadays, preserving the environment at all cost has become a politically correct opinion that can be used to justify any measure without depending on an evidence-based method. Therefore, the sole existence of a wilderness area is not enough to justify any legal mechanism that has the potential to harm a country's economy.

The awakening to environmental awareness arose in developed nations during the second half of the 20th Century. What initially started as a noble-intended reflection upon the industrial revolution, along with its consequences, has become a profitable business. Governments have been passing more and more strict laws to create a wide range of difficulties in order to increase their revenues effortlessly through fines and questionable requirements for business practice. Nonetheless, such complex laws have created an enormous demand for environmental consultants that thrive by helping companies to navigate through this ever complex legal system.

Generally speaking, developing nations do not count on the resources, nor the expertise to design and implement sustainable measures. For the most part, they must hire specialists from developed nations to advise and certify every stage of the process. Not only it means more money flying from the Third to the First World, but it also works a subtle mechanism to reinforce the hegemony of the latter. Arguably, developed nations do not want competitors. For them, nothing can be more convenient than the long-standing geopolitical system in which emerging countries exchange primary products for cheap (such as agricultural outputs) for much more expensive manufactured goods (e.g., computers, cars, medical equipment). To sum up, why should developing nations develop?

On the other hand, most of the natural beauties and ecological diversity still in existence happens to be in developing nations. If they follow the same path than their wealthier counterparts, the result will invariably be a colossal disaster. Studies suggest that rain forests play a crucial role in the maintenance of water supply thousands of miles away from its footprint. In addition to that, the steady rise in the average Earth's temperature has been aligned with the predictions of global warming specialists from the past. Consequently, there must be laws and ordinances to address this serious issue, but they should never condemn a country's future neither become an incentive for indecorous practices.

For example, corruption levels in Brazil are relatively high in all sectors of society when compared to other countries. Brazil is also known for its magnificent nature and national parks. Even though Brazil has one of the most rigorous environmental legislation in the world, the number of environmental crimes are incredibly high. In a country where individuals can hardly establish a productive relationship with the government without bribery, laws can be used by officials to sell any conveniences. The tragedy that took place in the city of Mariana in 2015 is a crystal-clear image of that: strict environmental laws could not manage to prevent the most significant environmental tragedy in Brazil's history.

All in all, legal measure to protect the environment can eventually preclude a developing nation to use the full potential of their territory to leverage their economies and, ultimately, the standards of living of their citizens. Though lawmakers should never abandon this approach, laws must be designed to solve more problems than they create.