The following memorandum is from the business manager of Happy Pancake House restaurants.

"Recently, butter has been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States. This change, however, has had little impact on our customers. In fact, only about 2 percent of customers have complained, indicating that an average of 98 people out of 100 are happy with the change. Furthermore, many servers have reported that a number of customers who ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine instead. Clearly, either these customers do not distinguish butter from margarine or they use the term 'butter' to refer to either butter or margarine."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument

A business manager from Happy Pancake House claims that switching butter to margarine did not alter customer satisfaction levels in their restaurants throughout the Southwestern United States. According to the memorandum, only 2 percent of people have spoken against the change. The author raises two hypothesis to explain the fact, but both depends on stronger evidence.

First of all, the manager assumes that buyers cannot distinguish between ingredients. An assertive decision requires further ground-based research among the public. This activity should consist of a quiz involving three unlabeled samples. Then, everyone should say what he or she is eating: either margarine, or butter. However, the interviewers should juxtapose the butter regularly served by the firm in their meals with a gourmet butter from an expensive import brand that is NOT available in the menu. Chances are that the low quality of the butter provided, rather than the simple lack of perception, misleads the majority of clients.

Secondly, the message asserts that people seem satisfied with the upgrade. There is no such sales facts to show any relevant increase. Steady performance does not equal to unquestionable adherence and loyalty. Competitors may keep gaining market share while HPH's figures remain stagnated due to likewise cost saving measures. if that is proven true, the recommendation will cause more harm than good to the company's reputation and profitability in the long-term.

Finally, the opinion might be biased at all. High-ranked managers usually deal with chain supply contracts. The manager's point would be entirely false if a margarine supplier bribed the manager to put their products copiously in every single HPH's store in Southwest America.

To summarize, marketing analysts have to draw a fair picture of the average customer before reporting the results to the CEO, instead of relying just on inaccurate assumptions of someone who may not even be truly aware of the situation.