To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities. (3)

Every city is the material outcome of a society's history. The patterns of social interactions prints its evidences in the form of constructions, squares and streets across the time, thus making it an invaluable source to understand the crucial characteristics of the groups who inhabits them.

For example, the foundations of the western civilization were born in the Greek polis around the 5th Century A.D. The agora, which was a remarkable open space in the center of "polis", sheltered the discussions that would lately evolve into the concept of democracy. Hundreds of years later, this heritage of dominance of the public sphere over the private had a

great influence upon the roman's settlements. The "civita", an urbanization model disseminated throughout Europe and North of Africa during the roman Empire's expansion featured the forum at the intersection of the most important streets (the cardus and the decumanus). Moreover, the

militar branch required city design to be as practical as possible. As such, pioneers elected the orthogonal grid not only because the regular shape was the easiest one to lay out and expand, but also the most efficient in terms of defense.

Nonetheless, the same solution became ubiquitous in the Spanish America during the Renaissance for similar reasons. The rationality of straight roads crossing each other at a right angle inspired Thomas Jefferson to sign the 1785 Land Ordinance, consecrating the grid as the mandatory template for all new cities in the United States. After WWII, the mass production of automobiles at affordable prices allowed for the largest suburban growth in the world. Shopping malls surrounded by big parking lots along with massive freeways crowded a day before the Thanksgiving Holiday are a typical picture of American's society.

By contrast, the Islāmic city differs sharply from all of its western counterpart. Due to the deep attachment between government and religion, the architecture of civic buildings holds little weight, as well as the public realm in general. In the muslim city, the houses define the character of the street, and not the opposite. Instead of the agora, the market functions as the most relevant place for gathering, where most of the outdoor social activity happens.<span style="font-size: 19.36px;">To summarize, all of the information here presented could not be collected without the physical documentation that

consubstantiates in the form of cities.