Nations should pass laws to preserve any remaining wilderness areas in their natural state.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

In the present century, to compete in the economic market, a nation is more intended to put up any industry and has turned apathetic towards the nations’ forests. The forest area has been reduced by half over the past twenty years with the sole aim of making land for further development. However, if we think critically, then we will observe that abolishing the forests may obliquely hurt a nation’s ability to grow. So, it is necessary for the nations to impose laws to preserve the areas endemic to wild animals despite the fact that the area could be used for industrial development.

Tourism provides a substantial support to the economy of a nation and wilderness areas are no doubt main attraction of tourists. These areas are endemic to different wild animals, many of which are specifically found in a particular area. People from all parts of the world flock to these places and spend few days in search of tranquillity and to see many of these wild species. In absence of the wild areas in their natural state, the place will soon lose its importance and the tourism will be negatively affected. For instance, West Bengal, an economically flourishing state in India, had few remaining wild areas where many endangered flora and fauna were present. But in compliance to the nation’s aim of continuous economic growth, the state has completely removed all of these areas to transform the state into an industrial hub. This myopic decision has plummeted the revenue of West Bengal coming from tourism since the tourists’ attraction had decreased steeply. On the other hand, although Gujarat, another state in India, is facing a dearth of industries because of unfavourable terrain conditions, but it is still prospering via tourism since Geer Forest is specifically famous for the White Lions, which are not found anywhere in the world.

As more land will be available, there is an obvious chance to develop the land for economic gain purposes. And the development will be seriously thwarted had the nation imposed laws to preserve the wilderness areas. But we need to keep in mind that plants are one important altruistic creatures on world who can save the world from increasing global warming and environmental pollution. As these areas will be cleared, the pollution levels will be escalated quickly which will pose a threat to the mankind. Similar instance has been found in Delhi where a small forest in the vicinity is axed with the motive to set up a steel industry. Soon, the particulate matters level in the air has rose to such an extent that it is impossible to see anything even in a sunny day.

Indeed, removing wilderness for the sake of economic prosperity may sometimes act as a disservice and therefore it is much crucial for a nation to save these areas. As a result, the nation should pass the necessary laws and take actions accordingly.