In order to become well-rounded individuals, all college students should be required to take courses in which they read poetry, novels, mythology, and other types of imaginative literature.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Some may argue that to help students to become sophisticated and mature people, schools should require all students to take poetry, mythology, and some literature courses. A discussion of required courses is important since it relates to students' development. However, in my stance, I do not agree that every student has to be forced to take certain literature classes for the following reasons.

First of all, maybe some students could take literature courses to aid them become more sophisticated, but not all because some other students might already well-rounded people. Therefore, some mature students might not need to spend time to render them better people. To illustrate, if someone, who might already pored over the required poetry, novels, mythology, and literature, is asked to take certain courses which the person already learned, it will waste the time of the person and does not gain more advantages.

Moreover, students have their major and related courses to take. If schools ask all the students to go to literature classes, some students might be forced to take too many classes since they need to take both their majors and literature classes, such as engineering plus literature. All classes can aid students to comprehend more and progress. Nevertheless, schools would not arrange students to take all classes for the time limit.

Admittedly, literature classes could broaden students' minds and help them become advanced. Nonetheless, there are many other classes would also benefit students a lot and make them well-rounded. Literature is not the sole material to benefit students’ mind. For instance, psychology teaches students to apprehend people's thinking and pedagogy allows students to care about other learners. All classes could help students. Hence, taking literature might not be the only one option.

To sum up, although literature could offer students copious knowledge and help them be better, there are many other courses also provide advantages. Thus, they could take other courses to help them. Besides, some might not need literature classes to improve their mind since they are already sophisticated people. As a result, requiring all students to take literature courses might not be a good choice.