Our previous experience has been that our stores are most profitable in areas where residents are highly concerned with leading healthy lives. We should therefore build one of our new stores in Plainsville, which clearly has many such residents. Plainsville merchants report that sales of running shoes and exercise equipment are at all-time highs. The local health club, which nearly closed five years ago due to lack of business, has more members than ever, and the weight-training and aerobics classes are always full. We can even anticipate a new generation of customers: Plainsville's schoolchildren are required to participate in a program called Fitness for Life, which emphasizes the benefits of regular exercise at an early age.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The writer of the article assumes that the construction of a new store in the Painesville, where people are aware of their importance of the healthy lives, can be profitable. This claim cannot be accepted as it stands, it rests on the series of surmises for the support of each some vital questions are to be answered.

The first question which comes to mind at first glance is that does the Painesville is identical to the previous locations experienced as the profitable for the sale. The primary factor of the comparison is the similarity. As long as two substances are equal the comparison can be considered as the valid one; on the other, the evaluation of the two various subject with the different features is an abortive task. For instance, maybe the previous spots are more askew to do jogging the citizen of Painesville, on the other hand, prefers the other type of sports activity which requires another type of the equipment. Therefore, as long as the similarity of the case study of this region with the previous areas does not prove clearly, this comparison is invalid.

Second, the author posits that based on the extensive range of sportive activity in the place, the people will be eager to consume their product. For the sake of this vague and shaky hypothesis, the list of crucial questions appears in the mind. Firstly, are there any demands for the further sportive equipment supply? Second, do the dwellers of this region spend money for the sports equipment? For the first question, there is no production statistic in this area. Maybe this spot is well-equipped with the shops to sell the shoes and sportive tools. About the second question, even though people are willing to do sport, maybe they are frugal and do not like to spend money on the shoes or sport equips. Either scenario would provide the alternative results which make the result dangling. The article would have been convincing if the argument had explicitly addressed these questions.

Finally, the author leaves an unresolved question about the students' attitudes about the sport. Although there is series of training class to familiarize the youth students with the sports, there is no guarantee that they will wish to do the sport in their future lives. Maybe during these years as students become the adults, they change their attitude toward their lifestyles. As long as there is no robust and appealing response to this question that the students will whether pursue this sportive lifestyle or not, this thought that the company would have the new generation consumers in this region is futile.

All in all, the argument is flawed for the reasons mentioned above and is, therefore, unpersuasive. It could be considerably strengthened if the author clearly mentioned that this place and previous locations are similar. Moreover, there is insufficient supply, and there is a huge demand for the products of this company. Besides, the ongoing teenager will be eager to do sport in their adulthood. Otherwise, this argument remains doubtful and opens to debates.