Claim: Researchers should not limit their investigations to only those areas in which they expect to discover something that has an immediate, practical application.

Reason: It is impossible to predict the outcome of a line of research with any certainty.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

The author according to the reason in which denies the possibility of awareness of ultimate consequence of research; claims that the scholars should seek at various and broad fields without looking for the quick and functional outcomes. I fundamentally do not concur with this disposition. In what follows, I will list my potent arguments to cast doubt on the accuracy of this claim and its reason.

First of all, I prefer to clarify factors which leads to innovative exploration or invention. I believe that any innovative activity takes place for the sake of two factors of society’s demand or shortage and the scientists’ knowledge. At this paragraph, the society’ requirement will be discussed. Any vital requirement from the society is considered as the research topic for the scholars to figure out the effective and accountable response for that shortage. By the ignorance of this missing part, there should be an unmanageable and disastrous outcome. A lucid example which sheds a spotlight on my argument is the exploration of vaccine. If the exploration of the vaccine was overlooked in its exploration era, there would be thousands of mortalities. Consequently, there should be an immediate and urgent response to the demand of society to halt the misfortune outcomes.

Another crux factor which is mentioned in the previous paragraph is the knowledge of researcher on his or her research area. This knowledge and awareness give a deep insight through the topic which leads to the futurist expectation from the research. Thus, the explorer or inventor possesses the capability of guessing the ultimate consequence of his or her activity. This fact depicts how the supportive reason mentioned in the prompt is shaky. Furthermore, any scientific activity requires the supports in varied areas such as financial, information, or even the belief of its effectiveness. For attracting these rearing sources, there should be a proposal which explicitly explains the aim, material, method, process, and final desired outcome of the research. Therefore, for gaining the adherence the desired result should be identified before starting the activity.

However, there should be examples from the history which seems the inventor or explorer did an innovative task which did not the response to the emergency requirement of that era. Furthermore, the innovative tasks seem to do not possess both the abovementioned factors. For instance, the theory of heliocentric by the Nicolaus Copernicus during his period did not solve any problem; besides, as it was against the law and belief of on that period, it was ignored. Indeed, this ignorance happened for the sake of Copernicus profound and deep knowledge which did not fit with that period’s understanding. For the sake of this irregularity and his beyond ingenuity, that exploration seemed as the useless for that era. However, if the society has that background to accept the theory, it would be more beneficial for that period explorations.

To wrap it up, all the aforementioned arguments illustrate my stand toward the claim and its reason with which do not agree.