As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate. Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

GRE Issue 1

As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.

The technology improvement seems like a burst in the history of mankind. When the technology is utilized by people to solve problems, people often abandon the original solution and embrace the technology due to convenience and simplicity. Thus the technology progress, inevitably, changed the people’s lifestyles and activities and formed their new ways of living. The claim is valid only when there is a direct relationship between the reliance on technology and the ability of humans to thinks for themselves and the deterioration happens accordingly. However, chances are the above conditions do not hold true. The claim of the declination of human’s mind is therefore fallacious.

Although it is true that people lose some abilities thanks to the technology, but it is also true that people gain new abilities based on technology improvements. This has been proven by indisputable historical facts. For example, after the invention of calculator, people no longer need to work with complicated arithmetic by themselves. The calculators’ computational power and accuracy outperformed human’s capability soon after they are invented, so there is an obvious tendency that people stop upgrading their ‘human-brain calculation’ abilities. Yet the invention of calculator didn’t undermine the capability of human, but enhance their ability in harder mathematics. The proof of “four color theorem” cannot be done without the assistance of calculator. To assess the overall ability after the invention of calculator may be difficult because these two abilities are not comparable, and in this example it is unclear whether the trade for new abilities is good or not.

Even if we accept the existence of the relationship between technology enhancement and the deterioration of human thinking ability, the fact shows the opposite of the claim. People’s lives now are distinctively different from the ancient people’s. Technologies that change people’s lifestyles dramatically include the invention of steam engine, cars, electric lights, computers, …. Almost every invention of technology that ultimately adopted by people shares common traits: convenience.

The way that technologies affect people is to facilitate people’s lives. Therefore, it is more likely that the people can spend less energy to solve the same problem.

To conclude, the claim of this issue is misleading.