As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate. Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning.

During the course of the last 2 decades, technology has advanced a lot to the point that people rely on technology for their quotidian tasks. If the trend continues, it is possible that as people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, their ability to solve their problems on their own will deteriorate. However, this may not be always true and can depend on person to person.

First, let us consider a simple example: A human using a calculator to do normal maths. Here, one can argue that a calculator helps us to solve math problems easily and so it is always useful to use it to do the calculations done faster. But as a human nature, anything that is not done or practiced in a while can be forgotten easily. Furthermore, if a person is relying completely on calculators to solve all of the math problems, he or she may end up relying on it for even simple problems which would have taken a lesser amount of time if it was done by a human. Ultimately, the practice or a second nature of reaching for a calculator for solving any type of math problem is becoming a mundane activity for humans which is precarious for their ability to do even rudimentary maths on their own.

The pool of examples that can be taken to say that humans are relying on technology in their daily routines is increasing every day in today's era. Referring to another example: In the early era, people used to cook using natural fuel: Gas, wood, coal or even cow dung. They used to get the all the ingredients required to prepare a meal for themselves and used to come up with innovative ways to make the meals more delicious and delightful. Coming back to today's world, there are precooked meals available for the general public to go home, cook in a jiffy and enjoy the food. As a result, some people are relying completely on these ready-to-eat meals, which they can simply put in a microwave for a couple of minutes and get the meal really within minutes, for their daily lunches and dinners. Even though this may look easy, this newly unprecedented way of consuming food daily is resisting and hindering the development of the inchoate knowledge of some people to cook completely.

In the contrast, not all the technologies use-case in a mundane lifestyle is precarious to humans. There can be a few cases, where it is not only helpful to humans but it becomes justifiably necessary. For example, a scientist has to rely on the machines to perform very convoluted and mind-boggling tasks, meanwhile, he or she may be thinking of the bigger problem or goal that needs to be achieved. In this case, even though the scientist is still capable of doing the tasks on his own, it is better to rely on the machines in order to achieve something phenomenal that a machine, by itself, would not be able to achieve; at least not yet.

In conclusion, it seems only justified to use technology in mundane or rare occasions as it makes life easier for humans. But they have to keep in mind, if possible, that they should try to keep their practices and problem-solving skills in check while relying on the technologies extensively. Otherwise, they may find themselves not knowing how to perform even the fundamental tasks someday which can be really frightening.