The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

The statement here suggests that by instilling in young people a sense of cooperation instead of competition, they can be prepared in the best way for leadership in government, industry, or other fields. Although, I agree with the statement mostly, but I do not agree with the fact that sense of competion is not required for leadership roles.

Firstly, leadership is a quality that requires an understanding of the needs of the people. One can achieve this if he or she has a sense of cooperation towards others. For example, a textile industry CEO should be able to tell if his staff is happy with their work, or whether or not all of their customers are happy. All of them may have different set of needs, which will require the CEO to adjust a few things trying to cooperate with them. Furthermore, It is better for the industry and its people if the CEO is aware of his or her staff or business associates.

One can take any field that requires leadership, may it be government or an industry or it can be an IT company developing softwares, the one factor that stands out in all of these fields is that all of them have people. So if a person can understand their needs or problems by getting along with them, that not only makes the people happy and encouraged, but also makes the government or industry to be at their best side. There is no better feeling than knowing that your leader understands you and he will cooperate with you in good times and bad.

Although, having a sense of cooperation is very important for a leader to have, we cannot ignore the fact that to become a leader one will always have competition. If a leadership role is available in government or an industry, there will always be a few people who would want to be in that position. So have a sense of competition would really help out in standing out amongst the people who would be applying for the role. Furthermore, its easy to