The following is a memorandum from a business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level."

The business manager of the television station here concludes that by restoring their original time devoted to weather and local news, the television station can restore the number of viewers they had along with the advertisement contracts they previously had. In doing so, however, the author misses out on many unclear aspects and possible reasons that might explain the decreased number of viewers or losing the advertisement contract.

First of all, the author mentions that most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with their station's coverage of weather and local news. However, it is not clear from this statement, how many viewers had complained in the first place? Also, what was the actual complaint regarding the weather and local news? For example, complaints might be related to poor quality of the existing local news show instead of the lesser time devoted for that type of news. Perhaps, the people who are complaining now may have always been complaining about the shows. Or maybe the consumers just decided to watch their news on the internet online. In these cases, even giving extra time to weather and local news show would not solve the problem.

Furthermore, it is possible that the quality of the new late-night news programs is not up to the mark. This means that the people are not ready to watch newer programs because they are just bad and not because of the reason that they wanted to watch the weather and local news but that was not on air. So instead of restoring the schedule of television programs to original, if they decide to improve the quality of the content provided in the new late-night program that can also result in an increased number of viewers.

Another assumption that is made by the author is regarding the advertisement contracts getting canceled. It is assumed here that the sole reason for the company to cancel their advertisement contracts with the television station is them not broadcasting weather and local news show. Perhaps, the company that had the advertisement contract with the station found a better medium for promoting their business. It is possible that the business has shut down or maybe its targetted consumers are changed.

Without a doubt, the business manager's conclusion of restoring the original programs and the original time schedule for their programs is based on some assumptions and reasonings as mentioned above. He or she must consider all the factors and should give complete explanations for the missed out assumptions, only then it will be safe to come to the same conclusion.