As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Reliance on technology does not lead to reduction in thinking capability of human beings, rather it develops the brain to solve much more arduous tasks that would otherwise be impossible to do. So, I do not agree to the given statement that relying more on technology to solve problems makes people less able to think by themselves.

Recent advancements in technology have helped people in focusing more on new and significant tasks than being stuck with the old ones.Performing time consuming tasks such as complex calculations, solving mathematical equations, sending messages at really fast speeds etcetera has allowed humans to use their knowledge and experience to come up with new ideas and leave the calculation part to the computer. After all, technological achievements have been made solely because of the extraordinary capability of humans to think logically. Programming computers, for example, has had positive impact on children who begin coding at a very young age; it involves building logic and putting in the computer to simplify convoluted tasks. As Steve Jobs once said,”A human being with a computer is the most efficient animal on the planet”. People who are fluent in using todays technologies have significantly better logical and mathematical abilities.

Reliance on technology has increased because of the constantly improving functionalities of it. If we were to use the first digital computer made by Alan Turing today, its functioning and use would be esoteric. The goal of developing technologies is to augment ease of use which requires critical thinking by human beings. Transitioning from gasoline based cars to electric cars, for example, comes with a lot of difficult problems that forces its makers to go out of the box and come up unprecedented techniques for building it. Even the online education system has increased the number of people that have access to knowledge; this has ensued in more people becoming capable to think for themselves. Technology adapts to the intelligence level of whoever uses it and fosters the development of their brains and helps them in overcoming their limits.

Therefore, I believe that technology and analytical thinking go parallel to each other and that relying more on technology is certainly good for people in general. Technology influences every aspect of out thought process and rewires our mind to make sound decisions in all aspects of our life.