"A recent study of eighteen rhesus monkeys provides clues as to the effects of birth order on an individual's levels of stimulation. The study showed that in stimulating situations (such as an encounter with an unfamiliar monkey), firstborn infant monkeys produce up to twice as much of the hormone cortisol, which primes the body for increased activity levels, as do their younger siblings. Firstborn humans also produce relatively high levels of cortisol in stimulating situations (such as the return of a parent after an absence). The study also found that during pregnancy, first-time mother monkeys had higher levels of cortisol than did those who had had several offspring."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

It could be correct to say that the order of birth affects the stimulation levels in an individual whether it is a monkey or human, male or female, but the explanation provided by the author for such results rests on several flaws, gaps and stated/unstated assumptions. This renders the author's line of reasoning weak and unconvincing.

The very fact that this study was conducted on just eighteen rhesus monkeys shows that it cannot be generalised. The kind of claim made by the author requires a significantly large sample of monkeys. The probability of these results being may increase on studying a large sample of monkeys that also include different species of them. Only Rhesus monkey species has been taken into account in the analysis which may be insufficient to gain a deeper insight into the subject of study, and may produce incomplete results. The direct ramification of this is that the author's argument does not have the level of cogency that it needs, but this could be ameliorated by taking the size and type of sample into account.

Another problem with the author's explanation is the absence of a pellucid definition of a stimulating event for a monkey. Just an encounter with another monkey is too specific a case, whereas it could be possible that the first borns have higher cortisol levels due to other factors like the environment in which the monkey is born or the size and weight of the monkey etcetera. A similar reasoning might also be made for human beings when encountering a stimulating situation. This could provide an alternative explanation for the relatively higher cortisol levels of first borns. Furthermore, what if the reason for the first time mother monkeys having high cortisol levels than those with multiple offspring has not been mentioned. What if this happens as an imperative biological event rather than as a reaction to stimuli? Or, what if the intensity of stimuli is more during the birth of the first child only and falls as siblings come along? These questions could add to the missing links in the argument.

Human beings and monkeys may differ in the type of stimulation event. It is not clear as to which events are common in the two subjects or which are mutually exclusive. Returning of a long absent parent may be effective for a human in increasing his/her hormonal levels whereas it may not affect the monkey at all. Clearing the ambiguity in the relation between the results obtained for monkeys and those obtained for humans could provide foster the development of a generalised claim.

Therefore, several alternative explanations are possible for the kind of results obtained in the above study. These alternatives could potentially fill in the gaps and correct the flaws made by the author in his/her argument. The assumptions made by the author are too narrow too be considered for providing a generalisation of the given study.