Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Education is of vital importance for a student in developing his or her career and good educational institutes play the most significant role in laying out the path that is right for a student. But the given statement that educational institutes have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing careers in which they are unlikely to succeed cannot be agreed with.

First of all, it is highly likely that the educational institutes may turn out to be poor critiques of the student's potential while trying to dissuade him or her. A wise man once said, "Constant failures and struggles are nothing but stepping stones toward success". During this process of struggle, if the institutes dissuade the students due to lack of results, the students might never be able realise their potential and passion in life. Albert Einstein, for example, was considered a lazy dreamer by his teachers and they said that he would never amount to much. But after years of hard work, he came to be known as one of the greatest physicists of all time. Judgement by an institute cannot be treated as a sound method for determining a student's future. Rather, the educational institutes should assist a student in overcoming his or her limits by persuading them to work harder.

Second of all, becoming successful requires years and years of hard work. Sometimes, teachers or professors may become doubtful of the capabilities of the student but this does not provide a valid reason for dissuading their disciples. Another example of such a case is Michael Jordan, the basketball player. He was cut from his high school basketball team because of his poor performance. Later, a term,"Greatest of all time" was coined for him and he is now considered as a symbol of success who also received the Presidential Medal of Freedom from former president, Mr. Barrack Obama. The teacher who cut him from the team would never have thought how great he would become. Professors and mentors should be strict with students but not dissuasive.

Third, it is the responsibility of the educational institutes to provide the students with options to decide from. A student's penchant for a field of study can be understood by giving him or her the freedom to choose. Educational institutes should foster the skills of students in which they are likely to succeed while still supporting them to change their field if they so desire. A supporting hand from the teachers would prove to be more advantageous for the students in the long run.

Therefore, it is not correct to say that educational institutes should dissuade students from pursing a field that is not likely to make them successful because life is full of twists and turns and one does not know what the future might hold. The main conclusion is that a student's success depends on the work he or she puts in, not on the ambiguous judgement of the educational institutes.