"Of the two leading real estate firms in our town—Adams Realty and Fitch Realty—Adams Realty is clearly superior. Adams has 40 real estate agents; in contrast, Fitch has 25, many of whom work only part-time. Moreover, Adams' revenue last year was twice as high as that of Fitch and included home sales that averaged $168,000, compared to Fitch's $144,000. Homes listed with Adams sell faster as well: ten years ago I listed my home with Fitch, and it took more than four months to sell; last year, when I sold another home, I listed it with Adams, and it took only one month. Thus, if you want to sell your home quickly and at a good price, you should use Adams Realty."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

There is possibility of accepting Adams Realty as better in comparison to Fitch Realty because of the stated reasons for its outperformance. But, even these reasons do not have solid and stable grounds which renders the author's line of reasoning cogent and susceptible to being undermined. Several assumptions and flaws have ensued in an argument that can be questioned in several from several directions.

First of all, the author presumes that the superiority of a real estate firm is established by the number of agents it consists of. Quantity may be a way to determine the better one of the two, but it may not be the case always. What if the quality of services or the expertise provided by only 25 agents associated with Fitch Realty is better and more promising in comparison to the 40 agents employed by Adams Realty? Or what id the agents employed with Fitch Realty are more competent than those with Adams Realty. Provision of extra services like discounts on specific houses, guidance related to choice of houses exclusively by Fitch Realty is also probable. This could enhance the reputation of Fitch Realty in the market, thus strengthening superiority of Fitch over Adams. Answer to some of these questions could provide a deeper insight into the actuality of the situation between the two leading real estate firms.

Second of all, the information regarding revenues made by Adams and that made by Fitch has been given only for the last year. One year may prove to insufficient in estimating the overall revenue made by a firm over a period of say a decade. Reduction in revenue for just a single year may not affect the superiority of one firm over another. Furthermore, it is possible that Fitch sold more offices, apartments or anything other than houses in the last year than it sold houses due to which Adams made 186,000 dollars whereas Fitch made 144,000 dollars. What if in that specific year, Fitch Realty made majority of its profit selling non-house areas?

As far as the sale of the author's houses in concerned, the house sold in association with Fitch Realty was an event that occurred ten years ago, whereas, the second house was sold one year ago through the services provided by Adams reality. It is probable that average time taken for the sale of a house by Fitch Realty has reduced in 9 years, maybe even become less than that taken by Adams. Lack of comparison by the author between the two firms after a period of nine years lead the claim made by the author. Moreover, the price of the sold house has not been mentioned. Good price is most certainly a relative term that may be "good" only for the author and not for other buyers or vice versa. Hence, the selling price and the time taken to sell the house are ambiguous in nature.

To sum up, the argument made by the author may be deemed uncertain as several situations are possible if the assumptions made by the author are flawed. The main conclusion that can be drawn is that, dominance of the two real estate firms cannot determined with absoluteness as they have varying probabilities in various scenarios such as revenues earned, number and quality of the agents employed, selling price of houses etcetera.