A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

Most of the schools make their students study the same national curriculum, but upto a certain grade. The necessity of providing flexibility in the choice of subjects arises a long time before students enter college. So, the given statement of making all students study the same national curriculum is not appropriate for the students at all.

First of all, the kind of colleges that students intend to join may select only that sample of students who have studied a specific set of subjects. Many colleges conduct exams in those particular fields of study for the selection of students. Studying the same national curriculum may render the a student ineligible for even giving the exams if specific subjects are not included in the curriculum. For example, in India, the most prestigious university for pursuing engineering is the Indian Institute of Technology and , it does not allow students who do not have Physics, Chemistry and Mathematics as their subject in the grades, eleventh and twelfth. The national curriculum may not always consist of the subjects a student wants to study in the future. So, it becomes imperative to take into the account the interests of a student in general, or otherwise a lot many years of his/her would squander off because of the unreasonable rules of academic education in the country.

Second of all, in certain fields like Science, it becomes necessary to hone one's skills right from about eighth grade if one wants to succeed in this field. Giving this opportunity when students enter college would be too late for them. In many cases, this does not allow one to find his/her passions in life. Being left behind in one's choice of study may even prove to be mentally perturbing for the student. In the growing new world, opportunities for students are immense relative to the past 2 decades, therefore, students should not be confined by the rules of education, rather it should let them free.

Third of all, every student is different in his/her capability to understand things. The national curriculum may contain subjects that may be esoteric in nature, this scheme would then seem to be biased in favour of those who understand the subjects. Making people study something they cannot comprehend is a gigantic waste of time. Take a student, for example, who has no penchant for the field commerce and is passionate about arts only. Such a student would not be able to realise his/her potential unless groomed from the beginning. Albert Einstein, one of the smartest people to ever live, had no interest in subjects other than physics and mathematics. One could imagine what would have happened had he not been allowed to study physics as a part of the national curriculum. So, the study of national curriculum may be significant only upto a certain point, but dragging the same things till the onset of college is not a prolific way to produce educated people.

To sum up, providing flexibility to students to chose what they want and not confining them should begin from a long time before college. This would help them focus solely on their field of study and also prepare them for college. Correct direction would be provided to them in if a nation makes change in its rules for providing education to its people.