Nations should pass laws to preserve any remaining wilderness areas in their natural state, even if these areas could be developed for economic gain.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

Preservation of nature has become the most exigent issue in today's scenario. Due to lack of natural resources, the present situation of people in the world keeps on becoming poor. So, the act in which nations would pass laws to preserve any of the remaining wilderness areas in their natural state would surely prove to be advantageous, even if these could be developed for economic gain.

First of all, the wilderness areas are home to some of the most unique species on the planet. In the past few years, due to increased destruction of these areas, some of the species are on the brink of extinction or have become extinct. For example, in India, the population of lions has drastically decreased because most of their natural habitats have been destroyed for monetary gains. Perturbation of the wilderness areas never turns out to be good for the native animals. In addition to fauna, these areas are also home to large variety of flora. The plant life, that play a vital role in developing medicines, producing food and maintaining the ecological balance also get destroyed when humans interfere. As Steve Irwin has said,"If we can teach people about wildlife, they will be touched". Wildlife is unquestionably more important than economic gains.

Second of all, due to our lack of concern for nature, the need for ecological balance has overpowered the need for economic gains. After all, the source of all economic gain are these wilderness areas. Countries like Australia, that preserve their wildlife, provide significantly better habitats for the animals living there. This is also the main reason for the existence of such a rich variety of animal and plant species. The economic gains have long been given more significance over these wilderness areas and modern cities have been constructed over them, due to which climatic changes have ensued. These changes in the climate have also lead to major catastrophes like the forest fires in California etcetera.

Nations have a responsibility to pass laws that preserve these areas for the betterment of humans in the long run. As Paul Oxton has said,"Only when the last of animal horns, tusks, skins and bones have been sold, will humans realise that money cannot buy back wildlife". It is important to understand that the need for economic growth cannot overtake the need for preservation of wildlife. It is better to leave these specie rich areas and let natural selection do what is right.

To sum up, as a society, we need to become more careful about how we use the wilderness areas and its wildlife because a balance has to be maintained between use natural resources and preserving those resources. This would also foster the growth of various animal and plant species which is good for the planet as a whole. The main conclusion that can be drawn here is that, if . we