Governments should not fund any scientific research whose consequences are unclear.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

The modern world has seen the most astonishing breakthroughs and has advanced to an unbelievably high level of technology, only by the support of scientific research that was once considered useless by people not actively involved in it. The results of scientific research may turn out to be useful at a later time, but they will still be significant. So, government should fund scientific research even if its consequences are unclear.

First of all, scientific research does not always produce results that can be used immediately. Sometimes, it takes decades for the use of those results to reveal themselves. On many occasions, especially in scientific conferences or radio shows, the great astrophysicist, Neil Degrasse Tyson has explained that if the government investing in scientific researches, the human race will would have to face a whole lot of adversities in the future. The main reason being, without scientific breakthroughs, human being will never be able to grow. Albert Einstein, the world's favourite genius, wrote several papers that were considered by many people as useless because they did not have impact on the society that the people could benefit from. But, roughly about 50 years after these papers, the L.A.S.E.R was invented based on the same principle Einstein devised. Human beings are generally not good at making a prediction about what the future might hold. So, cutting funding for science is not a practical step to take.

Second of all, if government funding were to stop, the eager young minds who have a strong desire to make contribution to scientific world, would be discouraged beforehand. Our society still has an ample variety as well as quantity of problems that we are yet to find the solutions to. Benefits provided by scientific advancements drive almost everything around us, from television screens to airplanes; the ubiquity of science is evidence that we cannot develop as humans without it. The late Richard Feynman once said," Science sometimes produces practical results but that's not why we do it". Even failures in research will provide us with an astute sense of judgment about the possibilities we should consider and the ones we should not.

Third, there have been many possible scenarios where research produced some undesirable results, like generation of a new virus, or weapons of mass destruction, but they have only urged us to double our efforts in making technology that overpowers these negative impacts. Far more medicines and remedial substances have been created than viruses. Diseases that were considered incurable a few decades ago, Cancer, for example, can now be treated very easily.

Therefore, it can be concluded that the unpredictability of the results produced by science makes us incapable of judging its impacts on the future. We can summarise that the benefits of research in science far outweigh its liabilities and cannot be overlooked. Rescinding the funding will only make matters worse than before.