As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Some may believe technology hampers the ability of humans to think because nowadays, people do have the tendency to use the assistance of technology to solve even the smallest problems such as calculation or looking for an information. While this may be true, I do not think that the ability to think for themselves deteriorate because of technology. I would further discuss the reasons to why I believe in such way below.

First of all, thanks to technology, we do not have to be concerned with and spend our effort on negligible problems. We instead have the opportunity to worry about bigger problems such as discovering scientific facts or inventing new technology that can improve the quality of humans lives. For example, after computers have been invented, we do not have to spend our time on calculating complex numerical problems because computers would do that for us. Humans can rather worry about harder problems that require knowledge and creativity. Just like a famous idiom, computers can do the easy work that only needs time and labor, humans can do the hard work that requires brain and knowledge. Some may argue that humans should not rely on technology even for small problems because that could lead to humans not being able to perform calculation by themselves. However, if humans are working much harder and complex work, why bother to spend our precious effort on easier jobs when it could be done with the help of technology? I do not think that this deters the ability of humans to think for themselves.

Furthermore, technology actually provide us more time to focus on ourselves. Back in the day, humans had to walk or ride horses as main transportation. For them, their major concerns were about where to sleep tonight or how much food is left for them to keep on going. However, because nowadays technology helps us get to places without any of our effort, we can instead use our commute time reading newspapers or socializing with friends. For example in my case, I use my commute time memorizing vocabularies or do my assignments. I sometimes even just sleep to give rest to my brain or think about my future. However, if I had to walk all the way to my destined place, I wouldn't have had the strength to do so.

To sum up, I understand why some people might claim that relying on technology to solve problems can deteriorate the ability of humans to think for themselves because it there won't be any problems for humans to solve if technology does it for them. However, I believe that technology enables human to worry about much more complex problems and provide us strength and time to think and worry about ourselves, instead of worrying about negligible and unimportant problems.