Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Having children is less important than it was in the past.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer. Be sure to use your own words. Do not use memorized examples.

In the past, most of the countries survived through labors that required great amount of healthy young people such as farming and war, which led to believing that children was the best asset in prospering the country. However, the era has changed and most of the countries do not require such extensive amount of people and having children to replace the old and demised people became less important. The reasons to why I believe that children is less important than the past will be elaborated in more detail below.

First of all, as technology advanced, people's lifespan grew accordingly and are able to work for longer years than before. People do not get sick easily and can avoid lethal diseases thanks to advancement in medical treatments. In the past, because people faced demise even at a young age, the average year of labor was approximately 10 years. However, these days, one person can work for more than 40 years in average, which can replace the labor of 4 people. Countries started becoming prosper only with few people working, which led to putting less pressure on reproducing. Also, thanks to the technological advancement such as robots, simple and hard labor did not require humans. Because of this, the importance of human labor became less important which led to having less children.

Furthermore, as time passed, the amount of money that need to be spent on nurturing one child surmounted the amount of salary one generally receives. I would like to mention South Korea as an example. In order to successfully grow a baby, one needs to have a protective house, a car, and someone who can spend their whole time on the baby. In the past, the requirements were easily achieved because it only required one person, usually being the father, to work full time to earn the necessary money. However, nowadays, it is nearly impossible to achieve the factors mentioned above even with both mother and father working full time. Due to this, more and more people decided to focus on spending their money on what they wish to pursue such as going on a vacation once a year or pursuing an expensive hobby, instead of having a baby.

To sum up, in the past, due to having to farm and going into war, having young and healthy children was mandatory. However, as people's lifespan grew as the technology advanced, and the amount needed to successfully grow a child surpassed the average salary of general people, the importance of having a baby decreased.