As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.

Discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Technological advancement is changing people’s lives significantly over the past decades, and since the industrial revolution. While some argue that using technology for problem-solving might deteriorate humans’ ability to think for themselves, I strongly disagree.

As technology gets better, we are able to do much more than in the past. Technological advancement in aviation, for example, allows us to travel great distances swiftly. In science, technology now enables artificial intelligence to win at games, understand and parse images, and even read and understand language. With those new forms of technology in hand, there is a lot of human brain power needed, that cannot be emulated by computers. Since there is no current replacement for human problem-solving, people still need to think for themselves, arguably even more than before modern technology. Thus, not only does technology not deteriorate our thoughts, but it might as well do the opposite.

In addition to thinking and problem-solving regarding new forms of technology, we are also left with older, more crude forms of technology that do solve problems, but do not affect the amount of thinking we have to do. For example, although computers often perform tasks that lower the amount of thought required from humans, computers also do tasks that were impossible before. Computers now enable implementation of intricate algorithms that can, for instance, sort millions of numbers in a brief period of time. Computers can also “remember” vast amounts of data with very high precision, which humans could have never achieved. Therefore, technological problem-solving does not replace human thinking, and hence definitely cannot deteriorate it.

One might claim that computer usage in math, for example using calculators for arithmetics, might make humans less agile in doing arithmetic calculations. While this is true, it does not mean that the ability of humans to think for themselves will deteriorate. As knowing how to perform challenging arithmetic calculations numerically turns redundant, humans can now devote much more time to developing and researching higher levels of knowledge in various fields, for example math, physics and computer science.

While technology might indeed decrease or completely nullify the need for human problem-solving in certain fields, it definitely does not mean humans will not think anymore. Thinking will still be needed for high-level problems, and furthermore, technology even increases the amount of thinking needed to get technology to new grounds.