People's behavior is largely determined by forces not of their own making

It is reasonbale to assume that what distinguishes human beings from animals is their ability to control emotions and external forces from deeply impacting their way of acting and their general way of being. Stating that a person’s behavior is, for the most part, controlled by extrinsic factors can result in being inaccurate and misleading.

Socrate is considered one of the greates philosophers of ancient Greece. His life completely revolved around finding what is true and what is not and passing this way of thinking to younger generations. His beliefs of pure rationality in the inquisition of the world led him towards the creation of a governing, abstract entity, the Demon which contrasted with the general belief of Greek Gods. For this reason, Socrate decided to commit suicide instead of live in a world where other forces impose a certain behavior on him. As every human being, he was victim of the social context in which he was born but it did not stopped him from questioning what surrounded him and the same traditions of the society in which he was living.

Going deeper into history, we find that behaviors of the kind displayed by Socrate can be also found in Rome with the figure of Seneca. Being an intellectual man and Philosopher from the current of Stoicism, he believed in a certain order of law under which the empire should be governed. With the accession of Nero to the throne, Cato saw his dreams shuttered and rather than conforming to the actual world he was living in, he decided to take his own life in order not to be slave of such condition.

On the other hand it is also true that men have the capacity to exploit extrinsic stimula and made them converge to a productive form of conduct. The same process of art production is born from inspiration which is not something that men rationally control. It is an influential force that moves your subconscious brain and connects it with the conscious part.

In conclusion, we can say that the context in which a person lives will shape his behavior but it should also be stressed that men are able to, usually control such influences, with an overall good capacity to distinguish between what is undert their control and what is not.