strong beliefs prevent people from thinking clearly about issues

History is filled with examples of men being influenced by their strong beliefs and personal vision of a future world. The consequences of such ideas have led to positive and negative movements. Overall, it is not the strength itself of a belief that correlates to the impossibility of thinking clearly. Other factors may play an important role in the ability to still keep rationality when getting informed about an issue.

Strong beliefs have, first of all, an emotional impact on our subconscious persona. It is the result of an intrinsic defense mechanism and of years of evolutionary process. It is also true that emotions may well contrast with rationality and diminish our capacity of keeping an informed point of view. The result of this may be extreme and negative. Taking the crusades as an example, years of wars were started because of an extreme belief that Christianity was the true religion that worshipped the true God against Islamism, which was considered blasphemous.

On the other hand, history also provides examples of highly virtuous men that had strong beliefs and could still think clearly and leave a positive mark in their lifetime. President Abraham Lincoln’s civil war against the slavery system of the Confederation or Marthin Luther King’s social activism for the rights and equality of opportunities of African American communities are two examples of strong beliefs in favour of reaching socially good objectives.

At the same time we should not forget that such circumstances are better represented by zero-sum games. We have men with strong ideas and a lucid though process on one hand and an entire system of irrational values on the other hand.

In conclusion, it should be considered that as with many issues, the statement cannot be absolutely right or absolutely wrong. The examples give prove the existences of a double-faced medallion where a strong set of ideas can lead to irrationality but the contrary is also true.