Nations should pass laws to preserve any remaining wilderness areas in their natural state, even if these areas could be developed for economic gain.

The stated policy tends to converge towards an extreme end by introducing the concept of total preservation of wilderness even if that entailed opportunity economic costs and future gains. The policy does not consider some relevant points that would render it inadequate when extended to some precise assumptions and conditions.

Every Nation is endowed with a set of natural resources that help it have a comparative advantage in the international trading context. Usually exploiting natural resources requires a certain sacrifice of wild environments. Land for agriculture needs for cutting down trees, the establishment of cities to meet a surge in population density needs for operations of sanification of natural dumps. Facing such problems needs and adequate evaluation of all the possible resources that a country has and finding an optimal condition when deciding to sacrifice some wilderness. A further example may be the discovery of ultra large reserves of oil in desertic places. If Middle Eastern countries had not digged those natural reserves, they would have never seen such exponential economic growth.

Additionally, legislation on the protection of wilderness is usually correlated to a wider objective of protecting animal and plant life, but sometimes, wild places may not be favorable for life to establish itself there naturally. What if the wild place taken in consideration results in being a bubble of sulfur and toxic substances that would endanger life in the nearby zones and cities?

Furthermore, some countries may need the right to exploit their natural resources because their economies have been lagging behind for years. The same Middle-Eastern countries find themselves in having specialized economies where the only resources available in abundance are gas and oil. African countries find themselves poor in manufacturing and tertiary sectors and can only rely on natural resources such as gas and mining. Imposing a full protection of wilderness in this case can be detrimental for economic benefits and the general well being of individuals that still face extreme poverty and unemployment.

On the other hand, some isolated, wild places may be needed for scientific experiments that are fundamental for technological innovation and future benefits of a country in terms of productivity. Many regions in Siberia and in the United States are used for nuclear testing that may prove essential for developments in nuclear physsation and discoveries in productions of clean nuclear energy. A country may want to consider this aspect when imposing a law that completely limits usage of wilderness within its territory.

It should also be considered that there may be instances in which a law that protects wilderness and the achievement of economic benefits can coexist. These same wild locations can become natural parks protected by the government and opened to tourists. Safaris in Africa have created job opportunities for the local communities and protected the wonders of the desert.

In conclusion, the policy proposed appeared to be too rigid. On one hand, indiscriminate preservation of remaining wilderness may not entail right off the bat benefits because some of the remaining wild places can be better used without seriously endanger them in the process. In this way a government could be better off investing in mechanisms that protect these regions by keeping them open to possible forms of usage in order to achieve precise objectives, such as scientific research, development of local communities, international trading advantage. In fact protection and economic benefits may not exclude each other and can be part of a plan of sustainable development.