"A recent study of eighteen rhesus monkeys provides clues as to the effects of birth order on an individual's levels of stimulation. The study showed that in stimulating situations (such as an encounter with an unfamiliar monkey), firstborn infant monkeys produce up to twice as much of the hormone cortisol, which primes the body for increased activity levels, as do their younger siblings. Firstborn humans also produce relatively high levels of cortisol in stimulating situations (such as the return of a parent after an absence). The study also found that during pregnancy, first-time mother monkeys had higher levels of cortisol than did those who had had several offspring."

The letter seems to imply that the results obtained on the sample of monkeys should be extended to humans in a way that doesn’t seem to bring much logical connectors.

First of all, the word “relatively” can be potentially vague in such context and an experienced reader may immediately ask whether quantitative results exist that compare first-born humans to their younger siblings. Relatively may also mean a production of the hormone which is higher compared to the sample of monkeys tested. Furtehrmore, the examples of scenarios given for humans and monkeys are not identical. In the case of human beings, higher levels of hormone are produced when a parent is met after a long period of time, but the fact that this is caused by the birth order may not be the reason at the end of the day. Correlation does not imply causation and a third factor may play a fundamental role here. Consider two siblings, a firstborn of 12 years old and a secondborn of one year old. It may be reasonable to question whether, the younger sibling, being more conscient of the surroundings and the fact that his parent is away from home, naturally produces more hormone just because the younger brother does not show mature skills in analyzing the surrounding environment.

The same thought process can be extended to the example that included mothers that went into labor for the first time in their lives. The example, apart from not having much connection with the central focus of the letter, may be influenced by the fact that a mother that experiences such situation for the first time is most likely not used to it and her body will consequently react to the lack of memory of a previous similar situation. Mothers that have already given birth to their kids, on the other hand are more aware of what happens in the process and how painful the process is, so the body may react with lower secretion of hormone.

In addition, there is also the problem of whether monkeys can really be compared to humans. The entire assumption here is based on the fact that humans are closely related to primates but even here, a distinction must be made. What monkeys have been tested? Is there some proof of correlation between humans and the tested monkeys’ genomes? These are reasonable questions that need an answer as monkeys such as gorillas or chimps are way different from humans and may react in different ways to unknown situations. In particular, the example given is the encounter of an unknown monkey, which the reader may believe it to be the changing variable used in a controlling sample group of younger monkeys. The reaction of monkeys may be different given that in nature an unknown monkey can be a potential challenger of your territory and a threat for yourself. This aspect may have been lost among humans that live in a society ruled by precise laws.

In conclusion, the results obtained from the study may be promising but may not be intended to find conclusions on the nature of human beings. As stated above, many questions could be raised to really make the results applicable to humans.