Claim: In any field — business, politics, education, government — those in power should step down after five years.

Reason: The surest path to success for any enterprise is revitalization through new leadership.

Giving a fixed term of time to the mandate of an authoritative figure hasl always been at the center of a debate that rotates around the principles of fairness and equity of governance. In politics, the tradition of stepping down of your mandate of power comes from a long tradition that dates back to ancient Greece. Pericle, one of the main figures of the democracy of the state-city of Athens, stepped down as soon as he understood his political reforms were achieved. The Republican period of Ancient Rome was also characterized by the presence of two consuls that would have a fixed-term mandate in order to avoid the tyranny of the previous years of monarchy.

In general, I would agree with the claim to some extent albeit it is generalized and extended to politics, business, education and the government without making due exceptions. Overall the regular change of leadership brings its positive and negative aspects.

First of all, a constant change of leadership allows for a continuous breath of fresh air. Consider the business environment which is known for being a really dynamic and always changing field. Unless the directors are well informed and have a vision to always stay ahead of the competition, changing can actually open the doors for new generations that are more and more abreast with the changes of the world. Banks have seen a total disruption of their way of doing business thanks to the arrival of new Fintech companies that have extended the use of Internet and Machine Learning to operations such as the origination of loans. Some banks such as J.P. Morgan or Bank of America have had the fortune of having visionary CEOs ready to invest billions of dollars in technology while others saw a change in leadership, pointing towards young and experts of the new technological trends.

On the other hand a fixed term of five years may render leadership too sensitive and unstable, but this still depends on whether we are talking about business or politics, as previously stated. In a company, business decisions are usually made with regard to the long-term and a time horizon of five years may not be sufficient enough to achieve the required objectives. Furthermore, a new leader is likely to have a different vision and plan and changing the operandum of the previous directors can be easier in a company relative to a government. In contrast, governments have fixed terms of five or so years since the decisions that are made for the economy and their possible social reforms assume the character of legislative decretes that can be protected by legal forms such as the Constitution and the national Supreme Court.

Additionally, a fixed term of five or so years also functions as an implicit incentive for the next generations of leaders to prepare and step up in order to become future candidates ad solve future problems linked to the enterprise. This point could be bette understood by thinking of a hypothetical scenario where a term of governance becomes indefinite. This scenario is not unrealistic as countries such as China or Russia actually have such political frameworks. Political competition is annihilated and the country would be forced towards the vision of a leader which may not be correct in hindsight. Future generations would lose interest in taking part in the political life of their country. Furthermore, an indefinite term without a legal limit of time could create a catch-22 situation where the leader works in order to assure that his term is extended in the future. This may not exclude criminal actions that would get rid of opposing points of view.

In conclusion, establishing a precise term for a political mandate brings his positive aspect of constant innovation and increasing probability of adaptation to future changes by the enterprise as new individuals with different experiences assume positions of power. Situations of tyranny are also limited, but, at the same time, instability may be created, despite the fact that this ultimately depends on the kind of enterprise that we are dealing with.