Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

The author of this argument shows a piece of script that can be used for some interesting thought process in the analysis of the data that we have on the production of these specific woven baskets. The argument is based on the assumption that this Palean village was isolate from the rest of the regions around it meaning that the production of the woven basket could only happen there. However, some further questioning is needed in order to correct the assumptions made.

First of all, the text does not provide us with specific information on precise historical periods. It describes the Palean village as a “prehistoric” establishment and the Lithos village as an “ancient” village. Precision on this point is needed to establish whether Lithos existed before the Palean establishment, reversng the entire thought. If this were to be established then the issue would crumble on itself as the origin of the baskets would be Lithos and not the Palean village.

Furthermore, vague pieces of information are also given regarding the baskets found in the establishment of Lithos. Are they identical or are there some changes in the pattern and overall structure? If so, then a possible connection between the establishments may have existed, especially if we return to the timing issue and establish that the two villages may have existed contemporaneously.

Additionally, the Palena baskets were not found in the “immediate vicinity” but the text does not specify whether the immediate vicinities were inhabitated by other civilizations. This may also result from the fact that those same civilizations may not have been discovered yet. As the text explicitly says, Lithos has been discovered recently, so there may be some residual probability that the immediate vicinities might not have been fully studied yet. Plus, the sample of civilizations analyzed and cited seems to be very small since nothing is said about possible villages existing not in the proximities but still quite close to the Palean village.

Proof of nearby villages may become fundamental for the conclusion of the argument since commercial relationship between the Palean village and these other villages may have existed especially if we consider villages that are not located across the river where trips by land can be easier than by boats in order to cross the Brim River.

Finally, vague words are used to describe the river itself. Words such as “very deep and broad” are not enough to establish the real sizes of the river. Some quantities must be given. It should also be considered that boats in prehistoric times were not too complex and this agrees with the assumption that the river could have been crossed by boat. Still boats may not have been the only means to cross the river. Besides the lack of measures of the size of the river we do not have information about the strength of a current but if weak enough, a river can be crossed also by swimming.

The previous point may be an initial proof of why boats were not found. The Palean people could have established primitive bridges that were across the river that could have been lost through time. Also, they might have crossed the river by boat and came back safely, even more surely if the current was not strong enough) but thoe same boats, being primitive, may have been lost as thousands of years have passed. It could also be that boas at the bottom of the river might have been moved by the current and can be found in other zones down the flow of the river where researchers did not look for.

In conclusion, there are many questions that must be answered in order to validate the point according to which those baskets only come from the palean villages.