People's behaviour is largely determined by forces not of their own making.

Human behaviour has been a subject of intense study, especially academically since the advent of modern science by the late 18th century, with several famous psychologists, philosophers pondering on the subject and its various determinants and effects. However, we have come to realize it not easy to categorize people's behaviours for the simple fact that people are unpredictable, never conforming to a particular behavioural structure we may imagine for them, based on previous observations. Hence, it is not possible to extricate the causes and effects of a person's behaviour which causes me to have a conditional stand on this issue.

On one hand, we may be able to somewhat generalize the effects the environment may have on people. The socio-economic, political, religious and other background pertaining to a person have proven to be a useful tool fro determining a person's approximate responses to certain situations and problems. For example, people who come from abusive backgrounds tend to manifest their anguish through substance and alcohol abuse or subtle forms of manipulation to ensure that they remain in control and thus, prevent themselves from getting hurt again. This type of forensic and investigative psychology, which has been a boon to law enforcement, police as well as social service organizations, allows them to take preventive measures and help such individuals in advance, before they may cause harm to others or themselves.

The predictable nature of human behaviour to certain external cues is also well observed in the process of religious radicalization, where the invocations to one's gods and culture are sufficient to cause people to espouse and participate in activities which they would not have taken part in, if they had thought rationally. The correct combinations of poverty, unemployment and a feeling of marginalization are often adequate for extremists and anarchists to perpetrate violence through mobs with impunity. In all these cases, we observe that people tend to behave in predictable ways to cues given from their external environments. Several life-altering situations such as death, sickness, loss, grief are beyond human control, which can at best be planned for, but not avoided. In such cases, we observe that people become repeatable systems of impulses and responses. Soldies suffering from PTSD often have broken lives due to such factors.

On the other hand however, we also observe people who come from poverty-stricken homes and highly traditional and conservative backgrounds go on to become top executives in successful companies or political leaders who become the shining light, a beacon of hope and bastion of progress for an entire nation, the goal of emulation for the millions of citizens. Late president of India, Dr. APJ Abdul Kalam, is a prime example of people who managed to reinvent themselves and not allow external environments, but rather their internal drive to 'reach the stars'. Such people depend not on behaviour embedded in our psyche through evolution but rather on ingenious mental checks to ensure that they spend their time practising and inventing methods which would best help them achieve their goals and dreams and thus, to shape their lives. The thirst of knowledge coupled with an ambitious drive is usually a key motivator for people to transcend the base action of their environments forbid themselves from dreaming and striving to reach their goals. Elon Musk, for example is said to have come from broken home and abusive background as well, but today he is one of the most influential people, who has motivated several governments worldwide to revise their space exploration budgets and goals and indeed, motivated in part, NASA's ambition to set up a permanent Moon base by 2024, as well as disrupted the electric vehicle market with Tesla, Inc. Values are the main indicators of which paths to select, and actions are the main tool which we humans possess and is unique to humanity, because only humanity can understand the consequences of their actions and thus decide on a 'course of action' and deliberate on multiple futures. This allows humans to select the behaviours they want and be proactive rather than reactive, thus reducing their dependence on external environments for cues.

Thus, a conditional stand best describes my thoughts on this issue. Though external environments are usual cues for predictable behaviour patterns in people, values, ambitions and proactive attitudes certainly provide an interesting mechanism to throw a wrench in the works of such predictable behaviour, and we are the better for it.