Recent incursions by deep-sea fishermen into the habitat of the Madagascan shrimp have led to a significant reduction in the species population. With the breeding season fast approaching, the number of shrimp should soon begin to increase. Nonetheless, the population should not return to the levels before the fishing boats arrived. Because this trend is expected to continue over the next several years, the Madagascan shrimp will quickly become an endangered species.

The author claims that the Madagascan shrimp will soon become an endangered species because of heavy fishing incursions in its habitat. However, the author has provided specious claims to support his main argument and has also provided insufficient and weak evidence to buttress his claims, due to which his argument has been weakened. Additional evidence is needed to strengthen his argument.

First, the author has stated that there have been heavy fishing incursions in the shrimp habitat, leading to a significant reduction in the shrimp population. However, evidence is needed to give concrete conclusions in this regard. Simply saying 'significant reduction' and 'heavy fishing' only undermines the claim, because it could be that the original population could have 2 million, and the incursions have led to a decrease of 10,000. Although this decrease could be significant in an absolute sense, relative to the original numbers, it still does not justify the conclusions that the shrimp population after breeding could not restore their numbers. If on the other hand, the shrimp population was 10,000 to begin with and the incursions caused a decrease of 5000, then the author's first claim could justify his conclusion. It is unknown exactly how many incursions have occurred, in what period of time in order to ascertain their frequency, as well as the actual decrease in numbers of the shrimp and specific evidence is needed in this regard.

The author also does not provide scientific evidence as to why exactly the shrimp cannot restore their numbers, replenish their population after breeding, but rather appeals to our beliefs that fishing alone can eradicate entire fish species. It has not been stated if the shrimp habitat, such as water quality, reefs and shelter the shrimp require in the ocean floor, as well as the food the shrimp require to survive and propagate, is being destroyed due to which the author fears that the shrimp population is in danger of becoming extinct. Specific evidence is also needed about the shrimp life cycle and reproduction propensity and potency in order to understand and fortify the author's claims that the shrimp population will die out due to the frequency of fishing incursions. If the shrimp can mate and reproduce only 5-10 times in their lifetime, then the author's concern is certainly justified in order to atleast maintain the shrimp numbers, but if the shrimp can repopulate at a high rate such as 10 times a year, and with great efficacy and good offspring survival rates, then with controlled and sustainable fishing practices, the shrimp population could very well increase. Also, no specific evidence is given as to the exact nature of the shrimp habitat in order to understand if the shrimp habitat and the wider ecosystem is unique to a certain region and thereby forbids the shrimp from relocating to different regions in order to escape the predatory presence of humans. If the shrimp can indeed relocate, or if their breeding occurs in a different region due to seasonal migration, then their offspring could be safe from fishing and over several years, lead to a fecund population which has the power to increase the shrimp numbers greatly in other regions, which undermines the author's claim that the shrimp will be endangered.

The author also does not state what else can be done to sustain the shrimp numbers and specific evidence is needed in this regard to offer credibility to the author's claims. Fishing alone cannot be responsible for completely eradicating the Madagascan shrimp, if other practices such as relocation, or fish farms are erected in order to allow the wild shrimp, in the seas and oceans, to survive and reproduce. Sustainable fishing practices, such as fishing licenses during various months of the year, and limiting the number of fishing boats and trawlers in a definite area, could help the shrimp to survive and thrive. Besides, over several years, such practices could very well allow the shrimp numbers to grow and allow the ecosystem to restore its equilibrium. Declaring some regions containing such shrimp as sanctuaries and wildlife reserves could also help protect the shrimp from wanton fishing. Evidence regarding natural processes which can threaten the shrimp population, such as oceanwater pollution through underwater vents releasing sulphur, carbon and heavy metals, new predators against which the shrimp has no defence mechanisms due to no previous encounters, new diseases, etc. is needed to ascertain whether fishing is the only main reason for the endangerment of the shrimp.

As stated, the author's claims are specious and require further evidence to further buttress and fortify the line of reasoning in order to provide a convincing argument. The rendering of such evidence will certainly help the credibility of the author's claims.