People should undertake risky action only after they have carefully considered its consequences.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Herbert Simon had once said: " Any new knowledge is an opportunity to be more rational." Rationality aptitude along with combining different competencies is necessary for informed choices, taking risks and decisions which create a positive feedback loop of better approaches, decisions and life outcomes. Moreover, different policies either encourage or constrain human agency; technology for example enhances a person's risk taking aptitude, learning and greater output in different domains like developing an e-commerce portal for selling different goods using existing logistical knowledge and capabilities. However, information is not always complete, perfect or easily accessible at all times. The person or an organization is constrained by external forces and cognitive limits for taking the best possible decision which enhances beneficial outcomes in the most efficient, cost-effective way. Also, certain risks need to be taken if uncertainty cannot be accurately factored in forecasting models; greater data informs better modelling and policies and guides human action but uncertainty continues and shifts due to external factors like geo-politics and pandemics. Therefore, taking risks based on carefully considering consequences is desirable and ideal but not necessarily practical due to imperfect information, cognitive limitations and ongoing uncertainties among other factors.

Many adolescents choose risky actions as different ways of coping with boredom, managing stress or competing demands among certain people, like their parents. They are not aware of how such choices affect themselves, their loved ones and cause potential embarrassment; using drugs, engaging in risky sexual activity or gambling are some examples with longer lasting consequences. Similarly, they compromise their future well-being, potential opportunities and social image by participating in risky activities with undesirable implications. Parents communicate the potential implications, hazards and alternatives for encouraging different challenges; they learn more about themselves, others, their interests and even increase committment towards cultivating passion for developing any hobbies, seizing future opportunities, etc. Being responsible, aware of different consequences relies on trustworthy relationships, quality information and being accountable to parents and other close family members.

On the other hand, a person takes risky action not necessarily being fully aware of the consequences. Usually, information is not offered equally or easily accessible among different people; there is much misinformation spread on social media and online articles, a person needs particular competencies for examining critically it's usefulness which they do not always have at a particular moment. They make decisions using heuristics as a way for accessing certain opportunities, also different strategic interactions do not necessarily ascribe to participants necessarily being fully informed. So, a person despite his meager resources chooses to travel many miles for a job interview, as the potential reward far outweighs the risks and despite being comfortable in his position, there are external factors potentially influencing the risk of his exisiting occupation or his organization. If the person did not seek and access alternative opportunities, he would have been at risk of losing his existing job, self-esteem and even his personal values.

New knowledge gives people opportunity for being more rational, according to Herbert Simon. Among capable adults, rationality and free-will interact with self-interest for making decisions, choose a particular course of action which considers risk and reward without interference. As information is not always perfect or complete in different situations, supportive policies facilitate human agency; a person is free to choose to pursue his goals in whatever way he thinks is desirable by committing himself to improve his competencies. In doing so, the person learns how to take different risks from experience, expertise and wisdom. For younger adolescents, parents communicate the risks, implications and necessary choices which challenge them in different ways but encourages personal growth, cultivates self-esteem as well as learning from failures without harming oneself or others.

In conclusion, people ideally take risky action by carefully considering consequences but they do not necessarily have all the information or competencies at any particular moment. They rely on heuristics, instincts and potential reward for choosing a particular course of action instead of only careful consideration. Moreover, tentatively balancing competing interests also enables a person to take a specific decision by determining the payoffs, it's distribution and strategic interactions, like in chess. Parents encourage young adults towards specific choices by combining trustworthy interactions with a series of positive and negative reinforcements, these choices are a positive feedback loop for more informed choices and future decisions.