People's attitudes are determined more by their immediate situation or surroundings than by society as a whole.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position y

Society and immediate surroundings, both play an important role in determining the attitudes of people. But, it is through the immediate surroundings that society casts an effect. There are people with diverse philosophies in the same society, which points to difference in their environments.

People’s attitudes are influenced by the economy of the family. Consider two families belong to the same society but having disparate incomes. As money comes easily to rich kids, they do not think before spending. They purchase the things they require without much thought, and even sometimes indulge in impulsive buying of things that have little utilitarian value. Hedonist life-style and carefree attitudes aptly characterise these heirs. On the other hand, kids who grow up in economic family with just enough means to survive, are frugal and prudent with their spendings. They scrutinise various aspects like availability of cheaper alternatives, cost worthiness, durability of a product before buying. They do not spend their hard earned money on frivolous things. In addition, children who grow up in affluent families that participate in various philanthropic activities, are prone to contribute to these activities. They become sensitive to other people’s adversity and hardship. Whereas, meagre income groups who do not practice such altruistic acts, are often inured to the suffering of others. They believe that people should earn by themselves, be resilient in difficult times and not depend on others. Such diverse attitudes among individuals in a same society show that immediate surroundings have a profound effect. Moreover, children who are more easily influenced than adults, pick up traits from their environment and retain certain characteristics in their adulthood.

Society plays an important role in contributing to ideologies like patriotism. For instance, American and Chinese societies are far apart in this aspect. An american prides himself in the fact that his nation allows him the freedom to question on matters which are very close to national pride. Americans can protest against their troops in Iran, doubt if 9/11 was contrived act and even suspect moon landing. Such controversies show that Americans, though patriotic in their heart, are very open to the world about problems within their country. In contrast, a Chinese never impugns the government on its policy of domination on South China Sea by doubting its motives or probity. In fact, Chinese all over the world support their country in all its decisions. This contrast in ideologies can be contributed to societies. However, these traits though encouraged by society, are inculcated in an individual by his immediate surroundings. It is from one’s parents, friends, teachers and other people in one’s life that shape such attitudes. Society as a whole seems to distant to cast an effect by itself. There can be a jingoist American in an otherwise liberal society who is influenced by his family.

Although, society instils in us many of our perspectives, it is the proximate surroundings which have a more pronounced effect on us. We develop different attitudes at an early age depending on economic conditions and economic conditions are immediate surroundings. Cultures encourage patriotism, but it is through our environment that we pick up such valuable qualities. Hence, peoples attitudes are influenced more by immediate surroundings than it is by society.