People's behavior is largely determined by forces not of their own making.
People’s behaviour is largely determined by forces not of their own making. I agree with the author
regarding the statement. Being a social animal, humans are always influenced by their peers, family and
ultimately society.
Firstly, people tend to seek help from others in their social circle. In order to be in a social circle, people
need to adjust with the circle’s thinking and moral principles. A person, having a different principle, who
wishes to be in a particular group, must modify their behaviour and principle. In my personal
experience, I had a hard time socialising during my high school days. I had to adjust with other people’s
principles and behaviour in order to enter a group. I could not control my own behaviour because I had
to socialise with others in my high school.
Secondly, people generally tend to be shy when they have to stand out in a group. They do not want to
express their views openly because they have a fear of being scrutinized. This fear leads to suppression
of views. They suppress their behaviour and modify it according to the situation. When Galileo Galilei
expressed his views about earth being a sphere, he was ridiculed and punished by the society for being
iconoclastic. This might have stopped others from presenting a new view. So, people inhibited their
views, which led to change of behaviour. Yet, some people stand out and express their view successfully.
They are able to change the society as a whole. These type of people are rare in existence. So we cannot
rule out this aspect as well.
Finally, people’s behaviour is largely determined by their experiences which they face during their
lifetime. A novice is mended by the experiences he/she faces. A pugnacious person might learn a
valuable lesson in life and might alter his/her behaviour. A person facing different horrors might come
out strong after facing such situations. My grandfather used to tell me stories about his life experiences,
how they changed his behaviour, ultimately shaping him into the man he was. He used to be a simple
village man who earned a living due to agriculture. Due to some circumstances, he had to depart to the
city. As a simple village man, he could not survive a day in the city. He had to alter his behaviour and
adapt to the city life. His experience in the city moulded him into the current person.
As a whole, we can say that people’s behaviour is largely determined by forces not of their own making.