People's behavior is largely determined by forces not of their own making.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Every moment in our life, we need to decide what to do from what to eat to whom we need to vote for as a president. Therefore, a lot of scholars have tried to figure out how people make their decision, and what is the main motivation for those. Many of them argue that people's behavior is largely affected by external forces in that we are living in modern society, closely related to other people. However,although I admit that we are affected by society and other people around us, I still believe that regardless of the external forces and atmosphere, every person has own belief and will to make their own decision and behavior.

Granted, everyone's behavior can be determined by forces, especially in modern society. Since we are surrounded by a plethora of people in our city, and we communicate with much more people through the Internet. The society has been complicated with increase of population, every nation has own legal and political system. Therefore, we have myriads of rules and regulations on our daily life, and we even do not recognize every piece of those. Therefore, unwittingly, we behave according to the social atmosphere, and ordinary people do not usually want to be an iconoclasm.

Notwithstanding, that many people usually follow the social convention does not necessarily indicate that people's behavior is largely determined by forces, not by their own will. What I mean is that, every person still have their own free will, as Kant said, and when we cannot concede the society or others, we can perspicuously act on our free will and moral laws. A paramount example that we can corroborate this is whistleblowers. A whistleblower is a person who accuse any immoral acts or corruptions within his own group or society like Chelsea Manning in the Iraq war. Since he must have certain reputation in that group to recognize those immoral acts or corruptions, accusing those leads him to cede all of his privilege and reputation in that field. This seems illogical to abandon everything just to follow his own will. However, this shows that every human can follow their own belief regardless of forces.

In brief, since a human is a member of a society, we follow the social law in general. However, when the social law is opposed to our own belief and moral law, we can thoroughly act on our free will.