"A person from one culture has no right to judge the actions or values of a
person from a different culture
Virtually every person throughout human history has been required to look at different cultures of
the world through his or her own cultural paradigm. It is practically impossible to separate one's
cultural upbringing from an individual's true identity to allow for a perfectly subjective outlook on a
culture different from one's own. Based on the assumption that all cultures should be considered
truly equal, no person from one culture should have the right to judge the actions or values of a
person from a different culture. However, there may be basic human rights that should not be
violated that could allow an individual to at least judge some of the actions and/or values of an
individual from another culture.
Cultural imperialism has been a factor in human civilization probably since time began. Stronger
cultures have either converted or assimilated weaker cultures from the time when man still roamed
the earth in nomadic tribes. Darwin's theory of evolution could probably applied to the human
species' various cultures, as "survival of the fittest" certainly seems to describe the development of
early cultures in particular. Natural selection allowed those early tribes to either learn and grow or
fail to learn and die off as a culture. In the beginning, it seems likely that the cultural traditions that
allowed human beings to survive in their environments the best were probably the ones that were
kept, regardless of what other cultures thought of them or what traditions those other cultures were
practicing themselves. A low population density probably kept most cultures from even coming into
contact with one another.
As mankind developed and became more advanced, it is also likely that the cultural traditions that
did not necessarily mean the difference between survival and death began to develop. Different
regions began to produce different cultures depending upon their local conditions, their
environment and the technologies available to them. As populations increased and travel
technologies improved, cultures began to interact. The idea of ethnocentricity, the belief that one's
own cultural values, beliefs and traditions, etc. are superior to others, would naturally have led
people to view other cultures as inferior, even though they most likely were merely different.
Obviously just being different does not make a culture inferior just as it does not make another
culture superior.
It is difficult to determine what aspects of human behavior could be considered to be superior to
others. It might be helpful to start with what might seem to be a simple question: What is the
difference between right and wrong? But such a seemingly simple question again comes back to
the problem of ethnocentricity and cultural bias - whose standards are to be used to determine this
apparently simple question? Right or wrong even within a single culture is almost never a purely
black and white issue, and that issue only becomes infinitely more complex when different cultures
are compared.
There are probably some cultural values that are common enough among different societies that a
judgment might be made by one culture of another. The killing of innocent men, women and
children by whatever means and for whatever reason would seem to be a universally deplored
68
offense. After that, the actions of a culture seem to move up the scale towards a gray area rather
than being a purely black and white, right or wrong issue. Most people would agree that torture
and rape are wrong, yet both are tolerated in many cultures. Again we must ask the question,
whose values do we use to judge a culture's actions and values?
The right of an individual from one culture to judge the actions of another culture is very much
open to debate. Some basic human rights would seem to be required of all cultures, but in many
that is not the case. Until such a day as the world's population truly becomes one culture and each
culture is entirely assimilated into the other, an answer to the question of who is to judge can
probably never be answered.