"A person's own habits and attitudes often limit that person's freedom more than do restrictions

imposed by others."

The term 'freedom' can have many interpretations such as freedom to move from one place to another or freedom of thought and expression. The prompt suggests that a person's own habits and attitudes often limit that person's freedom. While restrictions imposed by other people can play a significant role in curbing a person's freedom, it is often his own attitude and perspectives which could be attributed to the limitations on freedom. Hence, I agree with the author's claim that an individual's obstinate behavior could restrict his freedom. My viewpoints are aptly illustrated through the below-mentioned examples.

Firstly, sometimes, it is the person's narrow outlook and perspective that can hamper his freedom of thought and expression. For instance, a few religious communities in India, have restricted themselves from traveling to any place abroad, due to their religious beliefs and principles. They believe that traveling to different places outside their own country could bring undesirable consequences. Therefore, these people have restricted their freedom due to their narrow-mindedness and strong devotion to their religious beliefs. Further, if we consider religious people like saints who have abstained themselves from worldly pleasures. Therefore, they have adopted self-restriction to enlighten themselves and live a moralistic life. From the above-stated examples, it is clear that a person's own attitude could limit his freedom.

In addition to this, bad habits could also cause a person to have restrictions on his freedom. For instance, consider a student who secludes himself in his own room by playing video games or wasting his time on social media. These habits do not allow him to go out and play or perform any other activities of his choice. Since he is addicted to his phone, he limits himself to his own room, thus restricting his freedom to move from one place to another. Therefore, bad habits could also be one of the possible and significant factors that can limit a person's freedom.

However, in contrast to the above statement, sometimes restrictions imposed by other people can limit a person's freedom to some extent. However, these restrictions may be temporary as a headstrong and determined individual can overcome these restrictions and find a way out to gain his freedom.

For instance, India was Britain's colony for a very long period of time. During Britain's reign, there were several restrictions imposed on people that would hamper their freedom. For instance, the farmers were forced to grow only certain types of crops that would provide profits to the British people. Several goods and products made in Indian industries were exported to England at very cheap prices and thus the Indian government had no freedom to oppose this policy. But eventually, under the influence of great leaders such as Mahatma Gandhi, people protested against these oppressions and India was successful in achieving freedom after some time.

To sum up, although restrictions imposed by some external factors could limit a person's freedom, he can eventually overcome these restrictions and regain his freedom. However, a person's attitude and habits could lead to permanent restrictions on his freedom. His perspectives and outlooks can hamper his freedom of thought, expression, or movement. Therefore, I believe that a person's attitude and habits could limit his freedom more than restrictions imposed by others.